You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Collecting the collection- Tea Cups, saucers and cake plate sets

in Hive Collectors2 months ago

Hi. Your mom, wherever she is, will be filled with pride to see that you take care of every object that has made her soul happy.
To my children, I always try to instill in them the value that an antique or collectible object has. They are young and under 22 years old, they do not value what their dad treasures at home with so much love. Sometimes it happens, that they only manage to value it, when one is already part of this physical plane. It would be nicer if it were, while alive.
Thank you for showing us that beautiful collection of rates that bind you to the sweet memory of your mom.
I was also able to read the detailed post you made to your dad. Very touching and with priceless photos. My regards from Havana.

Sort:  

Yes she would be happy that I have taken care of it, but she wouldn't be too happy knowing that I am trying to sell it, but there will be people out there that will appreciate them more than me- as much as she did and if I'm honest, probably more than she did, for she wasn't much of a tea drinker at all and they were stuffed in her cupboard, very dusty when I pulled them out.

I don't even drink tea- or coffee for that matter, however I do appreciate the delicate, artistic beauty of the sets.

And I like your children, did not really appreciate vintage or antiquities when I was young.

It was only as I grew older did I see the value in them- but not the financial value, the historically significant value and in finding these treasure in Mum's cupboards (and there's wayyyyy more too trust me- wait for next Sunday..🤣..) I journeyed through time conducting research and that's when I grew to love them and the history of things.

Plus I just like knowing/learning as much as possible...🤣

That tends to happen. Everything has its time in this life. In life with our parents, having them next to us, we don't stop to kiss their tastes, their inner world. When they are no longer with us, a child often opens up to the desire to know or recover those details that he had by his side and that he never saw.

Yes that is so true, I hope that your children come to realise what they will miss before they miss it.