You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Collecting the collection- Tea Cups, saucers and cake plate sets

Oh yes, I still do drool over them because I LOVE pretty things like that- especially when there's not so many of them around these days, but in saying that, there are so many- in op shops, at markets, in facebook marketplace, ebay...Etsy, everywhere.

Everyone my age is now trying to get rid of their parents 'collections' like me, so it will be a tough sell and tough to price too.

I think Etsy sell too high, FB marketplace wayyy to low, so I like to find a happy medium. And it's actaully too much effort to sell online I think because the market is so oversaturated.

I have been trying and with one of Mum's 70's Glomesh purses, there has only been about 11 views, yet the other 2 sold fast. And then there's the constant back and forth, they they say YES. SOLD, then they change their minds...and it's back to the starting gate....

And when I do eventually find time to take them to the Trash and treasure markets, I will be happy to bargain, as I don't need a high price for them, I don't 'need' to make any money back, because I didn't pay for them.

Infact I'm pretty sure most of them came from the Grandma's.

I just need to make enough money out of them to pay for the effort of taking them to the market, my time, van hire, plus the stall fees etc. because in reality, the mission is to get rid of them, not make a mint, but in saying that, there could be things in her collections that are worth a mint, so I have to be careful too.

Just imagine selling something for 5 bush when it's actually worth 5000 and then the person I sell it to realises this and boom, they are 5k richer from my efforts.

Don't worry, no-ones getting MY Barbie dolls either! 🤣
And no-one would want to take the Hotwheels from my brother either!

Sort:  

Barbie Doll and Hot Wheels solidarity! I feel better now when facing my daughters! And knowing the limited editions are valuable.

Thanks for your engagement. Hopefully the ones in collection you want to share will find a loving home soon. Take care.