The Ever Growing Mug Collection

in Hive Collectors4 months ago

Hi Everyone,

Ever since @livinguktaiwan introduced me to the Hive Collectors community and @mipiano showed her collection of mugs I decided to dig out all the mugs that I have in my house and it's safe to say that it's an every growing collection. I'm not sure what it is but I absolutely love mugs!

Family Mugs

The first group of mugs is the family mugs that live on my worktop all hanging on a mug tree. I bought these mugs purposely for the new house as it’s not only practical but they make a great feature in the kitchen. These mugs are our day to day mugs as we love using them, the kids are too young to use theirs at the moment but when they’re older they can use them for their drinks.

IMG_6523.jpeg

My Personal Mugs

This set is all my personal mugs that I have collected over the years, I find that K mugs prove to be popular and they sell out quickly in the UK. Majority of them I bought myself but the Disney Mum mug was bought for me for my birthday last year for my 30th from my children’s godfather as he knows how much of a Disney fan I am. The other mum mug was bought for me on my first Mother’s Day from my son and the Mama mug was bought for me for Mother’s Day by my daughter last year. The snoopy K mug was actually bought from the Snoopy Museum I visited in Tokyo, Japan. I have always loved Snoopy and my son has recently started watching Charlie Brown; he’s also enjoying the cartoons!

IMG_6508.jpeg

Emma Bridgewater Mugs

My next set is a beautiful set that I haven’t used at all but it’s from the brand called Emma Bridgewater. It’s a UK handmade pottery brand whose factory is in Stoke-on-Trent and as a lifetime member I have been meaning to visit the factory. The mugs are beautifully made and they create mugs to mark special occasions such as Queen Elizabeth II and King Charles Coronation. They also do city mugs in different seasons as well as seasonal mugs such as Christmas & Halloween.

IMG_6507.jpeg

His Lordship & Her Ladyship

This is a novelty set that I bought from Palace House in Beaulieu which I visited when my children's uncle came over from Saudi Arabia. The Palace House is built in the New Forest, part of the Beaulieu Estate (which is know for the motor museum) and has been the Montagu family home since 1538. The house still has all the original calling bells on the wall in one of the rooms where the shop is located. This is where I found the mugs and we were served by a lady who was dressed up how the maids use to dress back in the day. It's a set that I may use if I ever become a Lady of the Manor, I can always dream can't I.

IMG_6514.jpeg

Recipe Mugs

I bought this set of mugs when I was in Australia and I was visiting a Wildlife Park on Philip's Island for my birthday. We had just spent the day feeding kangaroos and wallabies by hand in their enclosures, it was such a fun experience. I wanted to buy something to remember my visit but instead of buying a soft toy of a kangaroo or wallaby I ended up buying this set of mugs. I have never seen a set like these and I was very close to giving them away to charity before my move. Each mug has 4 recipes printed on the sides which you can make using the mug itself, stick the ingredients all into the mug, place it in the microwave, cook and viola you have a meal for 1. I haven't used any of these because I'd be worried that the writing may fade or the mug may break.

IMG_6509.jpeg

Starbucks Mugs

This collection only started recently, I do love my Starbucks and some of these mugs were bought a while ago but I had no intention of making them a collection until recently. Now, I purchase a Starbucks mug from every city that I have been to as they have You’ve Been Here series mugs which I display on top of my cupboards in my kitchen. It’s another touch that I have added to the house and I’m hoping to create a proper display case that sits on top of the cupboards (if I have time this year) so that they are dust free.

IMG_6518.jpegIMG_6520.jpegIMG_6519.jpeg

Disney Mugs

As my profile says, I am a Disney fan so what fan would I be if I didn’t have my collection of Disney mugs. I don’t have many but these have either been bought by myself from Walt Disney World in Florida or from charity shops over here. My favourite are the 3D Mickey & Donald both hugging the handle, I've tried to find if there are any others such as Minnie Mouse or Daisy Duck but no luck.

IMG_6510.jpeg

Travel / Day Trip Mugs

These mugs are from my travels whether that be in the UK and it’s been just for a day or from abroad. My favourite travel mug has to be the one with the bee sat on the handle. I bought this mug from a honey farm when I was travelling in New Zealand. I was walking round the shop, tasting all their different types of honey before I stumbled upon this mug which I had to buy. When I came back from New Zealand is was the only mug that I would use because every time I looked at the bee it would make me smile and I remember the scenery of the honey farm.

The day trip mugs aren’t anything special apart from the Grand Pier mug which I actually won playing a two pence machine when I was last at the seaside town of Weston Super Mare. We decided we were going to have a day where we just spent some of our change that we had lying around and I ended up winning this mug.

Travel MugsDay Trip Mugs
IMG_6511.jpegIMG_6513.jpeg

Miscellaneous Mugs

These are various mugs that vary from being used a lot to not used at all. My shop mugs are just mugs that I've bought from some of the shops I've enjoyed visiting such as M&Ms World, Carlos Bakery in the USA who has a TV programme about his shop as well as Tim Hortons which a few years ago opened a restaurant in Somerset.

My gifted mugs have all been bought for me for various reasons. The first mug on the top which has multicoloured VW vans was gifted to me by my children's uncle from when we went to Beaulieu as we own a VW van. The 'I'm not Normal' mug was gifted to me by my best friend when I left my job several years back and we have been best friends ever since we have worked together. She always seemed to think I had a screw loose somewhere but I think it really was her who had the screw loose. The last mug, which is difficult to see the pattern, but it has Wallace, Gromit and Feathers McGraw which are from the Wallace & Gromit Animation. This mug is special because purchasing anything from the Wallace & Gromit Children's Foundation supports the special charity including Cots for Tots. If you've read my previous post you'll know why Cots for Tots is a special charity to my family.

Shop MugsGifted MugsSpecial Mugs
IMG_6512.jpegIMG_6516.jpegIMG_6515.jpeg

So there you have it, my ever growing collection of mugs which currently stands at 78! I didn’t realise I had this many mugs till I started taking photos of them but I have to confess, there are more which didn’t make the cut such as my Harry Potter mugs. I think I may have an addiction to buying mugs but I do know someone who has A LOT more than me which is my mum. She purchases a mug from every place she visits and displays them on top of all her cabinets, we guess that she has over 300 mugs! Maybe one day I’ll count them.

Until next time, stay tuned.

Sort:  

78 mugs???? You're crazy, but not as crazy as your mum 😵‍💫

The Emma Bridgewater ones are really nice, but I think the most creative ones are the recipe mugs. It's such a clever idea, though I'd be interested to see how well it turns out

Yep! I didn't realise I had that many until I made this post! This wasn't all of them either!

My favourite are the Emma Bridgewater ones which are the same as the family ones. I find myself buying them when they're on sale and only £7 each.

I feel like I need to try some of these recipes and see if it works.

I don't know where to start haha, this is an awesome collection! 😯

The recipe mugs - I haven't seen that in my life, but how cool :))

The collection of Emma Bridgewater mugs is so sweet, but actually all your sections of this huge collection are simply marvellous! Today is a happy day for this community and all the mugs in this world ;))

Thank you, a lot, for your participation! 😍

Thank you for reading. I've really enjoyed writing this post and some mugs I forgot I even had as they've been stored in the back of the cupboard.

It really is a collection that never stops growing, I think I have an addiction to purchasing mugs. I'm always on the look out for a good mug. I really enjoying gifting mugs to others too.

Cool collection! I just have Starbucks collection and colorful mug. Your post inspired me to collect more mug from many places 😊

Thank you! I feel like you can't go wrong with the Starbucks mugs. I have to resist from using them though, they're so pretty and they're the right size too.

Yeah, and my focus to collect ceramic mug. So many beautiful artisan mug to have 😊

Hi, I was delighted with this huge collection of mugs! I really think my collection doesn't even reach a quarter of this one, but I will be encouraged to have more.

You can never have too many mugs. I host family dos sometimes so some of these mugs come in handy. I've been told I need to get everybody their own personalised mug.

Oh wow! Beautiful collection.. the Emma Bridgewater mugs are attractive. I love the designs.

I used to love to collect different mugs too, but I don't have space for them where we live, so I stopped.

Awh that's a shame, I feel I'm going to lose space at some point but there are too many nice mugs out there. These mugs already take up 2 cupboards in my kitchen.

OMG You have a lot! 😂 Your mom made a lot of influence on you 😂

Yes, I think I got my addiction from my mum but she doesn't use any of her mugs but I use the majority of mine when family or friends come over.

I remembered my grandmother also has lots of glassware collection and it's just being displayed on the cabinet. 😂

When I saw the post and just scrolled through the content, I thought that you were taking photos of mugs in the store! 😃 Checking out what you wrote, it was even more unbelievable that you have a collection of 78 mugs!! 😱 Hehehehe...

I like how every mug collection has a story behind it and a memory attached... That's probably the most valuable about them!!!


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project which will be highlighted in the next post!

Comment Footer.jpg
Please consider voting for our Liotes HIVE Witness. Thank you!

Haha, I could imagine that you were thinking 'who in the world has this many mugs'. Well I do and there will be more to come I'm sure.

Thank you for reading, stopping by and picking my post for your project!

Congratulations @kathrynkw! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners

Well, I haven't counted mine, but you have a beautiful collection there without a doubt, each and every one very special. Full of memories. much success in this new year full of opportunities to increase the collection. A hug.

Bueno yo no he contado las mías, pero tienes allí una hermosa colección sin duda alguna, todas y cada una muy especiales. Llenas de recuerdos. muchísimo éxito en este nuevo año lleno de oportunidades para aumentar la colección. Un abrazo.

Waoo, your mug collection is masterful. Beautiful all, an organized presentation of these, and among all, there is to count. I congratulate you. Thanks for sharing.

Very cool mug collection you have. I like the recipe mugs the best. Super cool idea who ever came up with that.