Bottle cap stories

WhatsApp Image 2024-04-25 at 5.56.27 PM.jpeg


Welcome to my blog

WhatsApp Image 2024-04-14 at 6.10.41 PM.jpeg


Today, I was encouraged to submit my post to participate in the April Hive-collectors initiative promoted by @mipiano, which consists of submitting badge collections.

WhatsApp Image 2024-04-25 at 5.57.50 PM.jpeg


At first, it seemed a bit complicated to me because I didn't even have a badge to my credit, so I had to remember three ways to use badges in my country.

  • Here in my city, in my primary education, they make rattles for music 🎶. It is an untuned percussion instrument, it is used for sensory stimulation.

  • A gurrufio which consists of a flattened sheet with two holes in the center, through there passes a wick thread, we turn it several times taking speed and then keep the rhythm by pulling the threads from the inside out. This was also done by two or more people, and the winner was the one who broke the thread.

  • There were also games of badges among young people as baseball practice, instead of throwing a ball they do it with the badge. There were even championships between groups.


I didn't have a single sheet because when I used to have parties or barbecue, there was consumption of beverage crates, then I collected them and took them to the country house, because there they are very useful for the construction of zinc roofs, they are crushed and used as oak nails. When I go I will choose one of each brand and keep them, maybe I will make a craft with the repeated ones.

WhatsApp Image 2024-04-25 at 5.57.43 PM.jpeg


Days went by and not a single badge. I asked a liquor store manager if they had any plates, and he told me that they had already thrown them away. Another day I walked to the store, and I remembered that I had to look at the sidewalks to see if I could get some, I only got about five, I got home, washed and dried them, but they were very few, and the days passed, and I did not have enough to present them.

WhatsApp Image 2024-04-25 at 5.57.46 PM.jpeg


Then I thought of a friend of my daughters who has a food sale, I told her to ask if she could pick up a few, and she said yes. This Tuesday, she sent them to me. I was happy because now, if I could think about doing the post, I told my husband to bring down from the closet a box of glasses and silverware that we got by collecting Coca-Cola badges, which I show below.

WhatsApp Image 2024-04-25 at 5.57.42 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-04-25 at 5.57.14 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-04-25 at 5.57.48 PM.jpeg


As you can see I have 04 glasses, 06 forks, 06 knives, 06 teaspoons, 06 spoons, additional 04 forks and 04 knives. Each piece was obtained by exchanging for several plates, I do not remember how many, and among the whole family who lived in different areas we looked for the plates and when we saw a truck 🚛 in the warehouses I arrived with the plates and the truck driver gave me the package (exchanged), that happened in 1998 my children were children. My husband's first children helped me to collect many plates because I wanted to have a complete set because I was just forming my home, but I never used them, then with our salaries I was able to buy other glasses and cutlery for everyday use.

WhatsApp Image 2024-04-25 at 5.57.43 PM (2).jpeg


Now after this initiative, when I saw @mipiano's badge collection, I was impressed and from now on I will try to have one of each brand of bottle, although here the sales of sugary drinks has decreased the 222 ml alone in some wineries or restaurant, the 1.5 or 2 lts is sold more in supermarkets.

WhatsApp Image 2024-04-25 at 5.57.44 PM (1).jpeg


In my childhood the sales were huge, there were orange Hit, manzanita, colita, Orange, pepsi, cocacola, 7Up, Chinotto, maltas Caracas, Regional, Maltin Polar, the common sugary drinks were 260 ml, in the schools, in the cafes, in the cinemas, also now the caps are not used so much but the plastic cap. And now there is more variety of alcoholic beverages: Polar, Polar Solera, Polar Solera ligth, Polar Ice, Cerveza Zulia, Cerveza Regional Pilsen.

WhatsApp Image 2024-04-25 at 5.57.44 PM (2).jpeg


I want to make some pictures of badges that are fashionable as art, I want to do this craft, I told my daughter's friend to collect more, and I will ask for help from other family members because to make this kind of mural I need many, and it depends on the colors for the desired image.

WhatsApp Image 2024-04-25 at 5.57.24 PM.jpeg


I really presented you my mini collection of 07 important badges of popular drinks from my country, Venezuela. Among them, we have:

  • Maltin Polar: Malt.
  • Polar Beer: Alcoholic beverage.
  • Cocacola: Soda.
  • Chinotto: Soda.
  • Hit: Grape. Soda or sweetened drinks.
  • Pepsi cola: Soda.
  • Polar Fest: Alcoholic beverage.
    For now, I have these, but during the course of the year, if I manage to collect enough, I will show them to you.

WhatsApp Image 2024-04-25 at 9.47.47 PM.jpeg


Well, my #hive-collectors friends, it was a pleasure to share my story about the collection of veneer that turned into cutlery and glasses. I hope you liked it, I'm waiting for opinions….


Well my #Hive-Collectors friends have a nice day!


💖💖💖Everything with LOVE is achieved💖💖💖


So much for my publication. Thank you for reading.❤


Texts and photos are my authorship.
Translation with Deepl. Photo taken with Xiaomi Redmi Note 8.
Banner and text separator created with Canva.


WhatsApp Image 2023-01-01 at 5.56.29 PM.jpeg

Sort:  

Seeing this beautiful collection brought back so many memories. As a child, I'd collect and sometimes exchange bottle covers for prizes inside:)

I'm glad you liked the post because it brought back good memories. Thanks for stopping by. Regards

What memories when I used to exchange Coca-Cola badges for a Coca-Cola product, I have that glass, just one because I couldn't afford more haha but you brought back memories on that side ❤️

On the other hand, what nice stories of how you were gathering the badges to make the post, here you show a lot of interest and effort to do it and I loved it.

Thanks so much for stopping by, it's nice to know that you liked the post, and that I made you remember the good times. Happy day @elbuhito.

Ohh , de esos vasos solo me queda uno, de las cucharillas y tenedores solo 2😁, que bonitos recuerdos

Well, you did a great job in your writing too, especially because you mention the different uses of bottle caps in your country.
It is similar here. And now that I think about it, I have seen them used on zinc roofs.
The fact that they exchanged crown caps for sets of glasses and spoons is really interesting. It's been many years.

Well, I see we are both immersed in artistic projects hahahaha... good luck!!!!