Fasting Outside of Ramadan 🌙 Some Thoughts

in Cross Culture2 months ago

Many of you know that Muslims are obligated by their faith to fast in Ramadan from dawn to sunset. Did you know that we fast outside of Ramadan too?

Fasting outside of Ramadan can be Obligatory or Voluntary. One must fast outside Ramadan if they have like fasting in expitation for breaking a taboo, or in case of making up the days one has missed in past Ramadan.

As for Voluntary fasting. One can fast in any day of the year outside a few days that are forbidden to fast in.

  • Days Muslims aren't allowed to fast are both Eid days. The three days after the second Eid. The second half of Sha'ban (the month before Ramadan) with exceptions.

It's sunnah to fast during normal Mondays and Thursdays because deeds are sent to to Allah in those days of the week.

A few people I know usually fast on Mondays and Thursdays, though I haven't done so myself. I find it admirable that they fast while everyone else is eating in front of them.

Another sunnah is to fast any 6 days of Sha'wal (the month after Ramadan.) I did fast those days in some of the past years. It's also preferred to fast the 9th day of Dhu Al'hajjah (the last month of each Islamic year.) The reward of those days are second only to Ramadan.

What do you think?

Most years, I only fast in Ramadan and maybe a day ot two outside of it. I'd love to fast more considering all the spiritual rewards I'm missing on. Though I'm not sure if my non-muslim readers understand. I hope to at least fast 6 days after Ramadan this year! إن شاء الله!!

Anyway, thanks for Reading and Let's meet in another article.~

Posted Using InLeo Alpha