CHOOSING A PERFECT NAME FOR MY BABY

in Cross Culture2 years ago

Hey lovelies ❤️
It's your favorite girl @debbie-ese 😍
Welcome to my blog 🤗
image.png

source
One of the most important decisions that parents have to make is choosing a name for their baby and this is simply because it is going to be the child's identity that he will be known with throughout his lifetime. The process can be fun as well as demanding due to the fact that you don't want to get it wrong. Well, this is the point where I am at this time as I am gradually approaching my delivery day.

It is a sweet feeling expecting your first child and this means that there are quite a number of names that I have been considering in my head. However, there may be contrasting opinions from my partner, family and well friends. It is not possible to make sure that everyone likes the name but the most important thing is that we the parents are on the same page. In most cultures in Nigeria, and around the world family members especially the parents of the father and mother are also saddled with the responsibility of naming the child which is mostly native names.

Each parents are inspired to name their children in different ways and some already have a set out plan for what they want the names of their children to look like. For instance, some parents have already agreed probably prior to their first baby that all their kid's name will start with a particular letter like "A", Andreas, Abigael, Anthony or "S", Sola, Segun, Sade, etc. There are some that derive the name of the child with events relating to the activities or events that happened during or after childbirth. In short the major responsibilities of giving the child a befitting name rests on the shoulder of the father and mother.
image.png

source
Personally, I have been looking into a variety of categories to get the name I want for my child since it's going to be an English name - I'm going to leave the native names for my parents and my husband's parents. I have been going through the internet to look for names from A to Z that have good meanings. Apart from that there are some names that I have come across at one point or the other, so I only punch the names on the search box to check for their meanings. We have a compilation of names that we intend to name our child and as time goes on we will continue to narrow it down and finally come up with our best choice.
image.png

source
Interestingly, I have come across some beautiful names with beautiful pronunciations and spellings but the meaning was not impressive at all. I wouldn't want to state the names here in other not to get someone offended. However, the main point that I'm trying to pass is that it is not only important to like a name but also to look out for the meaning of the names so as to avoid embarrassing moments for you and your child when someone ask for the meaning and significance of their name.

I'm going to stop here for now but be sure to stay tuned on my blog and don't miss when I will be announcing my baby's names here.

Thank you for your time lovelies.
The post is originally written by me 💕@debbie-ese💕

20200509_195027_0000.png

Your comments, criticism and votes are highly appreciated.
Sort:  

Hi @debbie-ese, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON