Out of the Magical Closet at Last!

in Cross Culture9 months ago

image.png

I've not written much lately because I've had my mind set on other things, but this Sunday was a very important day so I decided to share the experience with y'all!

First, I've invested a lot of energy on a roleplaying session that I'll feature next weekend in a large convention as part of a group of storytellers, using the system for Whitewolf's Mage: the Awakening, which I've mentioned in previous posts. This story, also set in a version of Caracas, is more than just a fun exercise, it's a ritual or ceremony meant to promote a different approach to everyday reality in all participants. This Sunday I got to test it for a group of four players, all of them involved in the convention with their own narratives. They were thrilled and I felt right at home once again as a narrator, trying a few things that I'd never tried before. I was stressing a bit over this game but once I got to it, the sensation was indescribably awesome.

image.png

Since I was there not just as a storyteller but also as a shaman, I had my full regalia, including my hat with coins magnetically attached to it; my rosaries, collected from my grandmother's house when she passed away; the stones that I've carved as well as some of my crystals; a marble pyramid that I bought a few years ago; my wooden wand gifted to me by the city itself and, of course, my Runes, both the first and second sets. So I really looked the part when we were stopped at a police checkpoint while returning home. I'm sure these checkpoints aren't comfortable or nice anywhere, but in Venezuela they're distinctly disagreeable, so the first reaction even for me is inevitably fear and discomfort, but I quickly dispelled it by stepping out of the vehicle willingly and offering all the support I could to the authorities. The story I'd just narrated was about facing darkness and transforming reality with our will, I began doing that immediately and the signs of change didn't take long to appear. Upon seeing all of my the stuff I had on me, one of the policemen asked me whether I was a religious practitioner or something, and for the first time ever, I said I'm a Shaman. Now, this is really important: I always used to respond to these police queries with "translator" because it was easier, but it'd started rubbing me the wrong way for a while, it didn't feel truthful anymore even though I'm in fact a translator and many other things. The reaction to this statement was disbelief, but not a single ounce of mockery slipped in and another policeman, whom I took to be the ranking officer, asked me from afar whether I'd taken "yahuasca". I matter-of-factly said yes, hahaha.

As the other officers searched the car and my friends, I proceeded to offer a blessing for a female officer who asked me to perform "magic", jokingly telling me to give her larger breasts. I asked her whether she had a desire that would make her truly happy and she solemnly said that she wanted to protect her children and parents, so I called upon her and her family the protection of all angels, deities, ancestors, queens, virgins and God Almighty. Then I surrendered my backpack for them to search and they were even more baffled to find my stones. One of them asked me not to place a curse on him if he touched them 😂. The ranking officer pulled me aside, asked me if I had "the gift," and I said yes. He told me to be straightforward with him on whether I consumed cannabis (the police is always looking for this when they pull people over) and I told him that I do but that I didn't carry any on me and neither did my friends. He insisted for a bit, but I knew I'd already won him over because he looked me straight in the eye and told me that he had the gift too, that he could tell that I was being sincere.

The rest of the search was pretty fun. They joked around and I laughed, they found the roleplaying die and were mock-concerned that we might be devil-worshippers. In the end, I called forth a blessing upon all of them, shook their hands and gave the ranking officer one of my carvings for protection and revelation. He took it with great respect and sent us on our way. My friends were thankful for my involvement but I apologized because that experience was directly connected with the session we'd just played, a kind of test. Spirits were really good all the same, an encounter that could've been a problem became an opportunity to showcase my training and shift the vibe toward a more joyful outcome.

Later, as I rode the subway home, I was in bliss and spread more light, love and healing through the wagon, the train, the entire subway system and the whole city. I'm still in bliss as I write this! I finally "came out of the closet" as a spiritual servant before the authorities! I feel this was a major event. I'm much more formally engaged with the decision to dedicate my entire life to this path, and this can only mean deeper alignment of my actions, words, thoughts and purpose.

Sort:  

Wow so powerful my friend! I'm so impressed by how you handled the police and I absolutely agree:

I finally "came out of the closet" as a spiritual servant before the authorities! I feel this was a major event.

So nice to read that you're still in bliss 🙂

Yes, it was really powerful! And immediately afterwards I began to receive so much important information from my environment and my friends. This is surely a new ride for me. Thank you so much, dear!

I can understand how such an encounter with authorities can be terrifying and I'm proud of you for "coming out". It was a valuable lesson for your friend too, I'm sure, one of those moments that serve several purposes all at once.

Heeey, thanks for the comment! Yeah, it was a multipurpose experience. I was literally telling them a story about Magic and then I immediately get to demonstrate it in person, hahahaha.

This is much bigger than I thought it was when you first told me about it. Obviously for you, but also for your friends, a moment for them to get a sense of their own power and you guided them through it amazingly. I wish you countless pleasant encounters of all kinds!

Yes, it felt really important! Thank you, my friend. From now on, I'm embracing the role that I have chosen at a whole new level!