A Glimpse of how Deeper Life Bible Church, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom State.

in Cross Culture3 years ago

IMG20210410134725.jpg

I realized that this is the best place to share with us the first time I experiencing a white wedding conducted by Deeper Life Bible Church, Ikot Ekpene.

It was an awesome experience as I always thought that all churches or white weddings conducted by churches are the same except for their doctrine but then, I realized yesterday that not all are the same.

Yesterday, I was opportune to experience the joyous moment of this beautiful person who was once friends for a while now become a couple (husband and wife).

I pray that their marriage is blessed and fruitful with plenty of kids surrounding their tables.

Because it was my first time seeing a wedding conducted that way, I had no option but to take a lot of pictures so you could feed your eyes on them.

IMG20210410135207.jpg

She was not on a beautiful or perhaps glamorous wedding gown like many of the ladies use to wear, not because they were not buoyant enough to buy but it was because of her church doctrine.

When I asked why she wasn't wearing a long wedding gown like I usually see, I was told by others that in Deeper Life which is her church, it is expected and a doctrine that all ladies, sows a white gown to wear on their wedding day, exactly, like she is wearing.

No ring was exchanged between the two couples because the church does not use or their doctrine doesn't accept the exchange of rings. No veil was covered but she just tied a white head-tie to match with her white gown.

I was opportune to capture all scenes which include a shot alone and with their different families as well as friends except the scene where the groom stood alone.

Couple with the Bride's family
IMG20210410135424.jpg

Couple with the Groom's Family
IMG20210410135312.jpg

During the reception, no cake was cut, no toast was made for the couple, no nuptial dance was done by the couple neither was any decorated or decorative place nor sit made for the newest couple.

This is during the reception time when they were matching in to take their place

The entrance to which they will match in through was decorated with a red carpet up to the place that was kept for them to seat on was covered with white.

IMG20210410134519.jpg

IMG20210410132012.jpg

IMG20210410131950.jpg

That's where they sat on, a place with the chairman of the occasion

IMG20210410132050.jpg

IMG20210410133124.jpg

IMG20210410133128.jpg

Couples with both Families

IMG20210410135351.jpg

IMG20210410135352.jpg

IMG20210410135359.jpg

IMG20210410135404.jpg

As a lady who has seen several beautiful wedding gowns and always wished that one day, I will wear one of those gowns, It felt awkward and strange to me but on the other hand, looking at the bright side, it saves money and much running around.

Like, booking of cake and decorator, looking for ladies/girls who will join my train and be my friends of the bride or perhaps ladies in blue. And also searching for good material and good color to go for all of them.

Those things are all stress but looking at this wedding, it is obvious that none of those things were made because the church doctrine does not accept them.

IMG-20210411-WA0001.jpg

Traveling from Uyo, Akwa Ibom down to Ikot Ekpene, also in Akwa Ibom with a friend of mine is something I never dreamed about but yesterday, because of this beautiful couple, I did that and I would say I was happy going down there to celebrate with them.

It was a great and wonderful day I have anticipated, and I return all glory to God for a successful marriage, a safe journey back home and a wonderful day, because we did not experience rain pour all through the wedding and I say a big congratulations to this beautiful couple.

The day was a stressful one but I guess it was worth all of it.

Thank you for reading through my blog.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this valuable content about culture! Keep making good content @evegrace!

I am @ceparl and I've chosen this post for 100% curation in Hive Cross Culture's curation project.
• You will receive a percentage of the rewards from our curation post.
• And this post would be featured in our next weekly digest article.

Hive Cross culture is a community for conversation about culture. This can be national, local, community, or personal culture, subculture or your ideas about culture, language posts etc. We also invite and support bilingual posts, and are searching for ways to support and grow the local communities on Hive. Come join us in our discord chat if you are interested!

Thank you so much for choosing my post. I am grateful