You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freelancing and Socializing in Nigeria - Untangled Knots #1

in Cross Culture2 years ago

That's true!

I didn't eat out when I was much younger (well I'm not really old either), but things happen.

The journey of life isn't something we can easily predict: we don't know what will happen the next second, not to mention the next hour, day or year. We may kick hard against eating out; writing a 50-page thesis on the disaster involved in eating outside. But the experience of an undiluted SAPA can make us change that earlier mindset 😪


Well, I believe there are some names that are general, like the "mama-put", since it is an English name.

But Buka sounds unique to West.

But don't be surprised eeeehn 😅 The last time I travelled to the Eastern part of Nigeria, I was wondering what I'll say to alight from the bus. I am already used to the usual chant of "Owa" that is well known in the West.

I was in a state of deep quagmire (walahi, forget English oooo... I confuse die 😅😅😅)

I was about to chat a friend of mine via WhatsApp to do think voice note and send to me to help me so that when I get to my destination, I'll just call it out. Then suddenly I heard "Owa" from one of the passengers 😅😅😅

I said, omo!!! I won't dull myself, I also shouted "Owa" when it was my turn 😁.

Well, in summary, I think some Easterners or Northerners will relate with the name Buka.

Sort:  

Lol that sounds like my experience overseas 😄

True!!!

😅😅😅

When we move to a new environment, state or country, we try our best not to make it look as though we are a Novice or someone who just arrived.

(What we call JJC - Johnny Just Come) 😅😅😅

We want to blend in immediately 😅😅 so that we won't be mocked or made fun of. But, sometimes the odds won't be to our favour, and they will still laugh at us 😅😅

Well, we learn by that also 😁

I always laugh at myself, sometimes it makes things easier :-D

Yes, especially when you take the jokes as an avenue to improve.

Buka definitely sounds unique to the west and I'm sure the north would have a different name for local food be vendor. Often common in the west is iya Sadia hahaha but I don't know how these things works in the east even if I'm from the east. There's a lot of cultural diversity and so many unique things about this country. I'm sure I wasn't able to say it all, but then, let's see how next time on the show would be like.

Yes, true!
There are lots of cultural diversities.

However, amidst these differences, there are obvious and fundamental basis for unity of all the different "peoples" that make up Nigeria. Well, this reminds me of a course I did during my first degree days, "Nigerian Peoples and Culture."

The basis of this unity isn't obvious now because that wasn't the binding force, neither was it the reason behind the amalgamation. Rather, the amalgamation was done for a purely economic reason. And Nigeria is still operating with this faulty default setting.

Well, many things to say and I can't express all in this comment section.

I can't wait to see what the next episode/show offers.