You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I’m in Hive Heaven! You haven’t seen my final form...

in Cross Culture3 years ago (edited)

I know that feeling. I come from a really orthodox hindu family and friend circle. And to say that no one understand half of my opinions/life views, they don't understand would be an understatement.

I mean, I have lost contact with 70% of my friends just because they believe in the different world view. And I don't talk to half of my family just because of this.

So, when they see me writing a lot on internet, and asked me to share my handles/blogs, social media accounts, I was quite uneasy.

I always worried, what if they will read what I am writing about them. What if I hurt their sentiments by writing my opinions.

What will they think about me when they read my full view of the world.

It's been an un easy feeling. But in the last year, I have shared some of my social media profiles, even hive blog etc. to some of my friends/ family members.

And I don't know if they were proud or not but they didn't care at all. They would have read 4-5 posts at max. till now.

After sharing my blog posts, social media accounts etc, I realized, people are busy. And they don't care much about what someone else is doing or thinking.

They might comment a thing or two when you meet them. But they don't care much at all.

And it's a feeling of relief since then.

So, I could understand a little bit of why you changed your hive handle. And why you wanted to start fresh. Something you could easily share with people in the physical world.

Sort:  

70%! That sounds like a lot but now that I'm thinking about it I've probably lost 90%. I just keep growing and I invite people to stay in my life but I don't force them to, and I feel as I become more who I want to be, the people around me match better and better. Along the way I find people who stick around although most do not.

Many people are not growing much once they become adults and even those who do may not necessarily follow the same path as us. THAT'S OK!

It's true. Most people don't have time to read all your blogs. But they will probably read some. My parents and hometown friends have gotten easier since I calmed down and stopped arguing.

I used to label myself as "anti" this or that but these days I think in terms of what I support, not what I'm against. It's a much more diplomatic way to live and you don't have to hide your opinions or personality either. It'll still offend some people but they are the kind of people who will get upset no matter what so whatever!

True, you will always find people who will get offended no matter what.😅