You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: IN LOVE WITH NEPAL

in Cross Culture3 years ago

Nepal has always been on my list to visit. Their people fascinates me and also the culture. I learned nepali when I was 15 just because and it was interesting. There are so many online friends that I came to know and I want to visit their countries one by one. Thus far, I only visit two. I hope the corona dies so I can visit more.

Sort:  

You're so diligent to learn Nepali. It'll be useful when you're in remote areas. I look a lot like Tamang or Gurung people so elderly people stared at me in a peculiar manner when I spoke in English instead of Nepali 🤣 Yup, I hope COVID dies down too so that everyone can get on with travelling again. Take care!

ooh good to know! I had online friends, The Gurungs when I was 15 ish and from my impression, they live up high and in quite remote areas. They speak quite OK English and somewhat obsessed with learning English. I realized that my language skills would be useful one day. It was proven when I met a nepali in Indonesia and had the chance to practice it a bit.

Yes, the younger ones speak good English. Actually the Gurungs have many dialects such as Tamu Kwyi and Loke. Even my guide from Kathmandu can't understand 🤣