What is a typical Breakfast in your country? / ¿Qué es un desayuno típico en tu país?

in Cross Culture4 years ago

A year ago when I was enrolled at B1 level Spanish class, I was asked to explain the Desayuno in Indonesia. I was slightly confused because my Desayuno is not really a typical Indonesian breakfast. I eat from bread, muesli bar to oatmeal and cereal. It's something people here call as western breakfast. That got me wondering too about what people actually eat during breakfast in Indonesia. So I did some research by asking some of my Indonesian friends and family. What I found is...

Es Diversa !

It's safe to say that each states and provinces have their own typical breakfast. But the closest I can think of today is typical breakfast in East-Java.

image.png

Es " Pecel" en consesta : la verduras, arroz, huevo frito, a vece pollo y salsa de maní.

Oh yeah there's also " Kerupuk" or rice crackers as the side dish. Pecel is very common desayuno for people in East Java. Though I don't live there anymore, I can still eat this but definitely not as good as Pecel from East-Java.

Si eres vegana/veganos this is the perfect dish for you. Even if you are not vegana/veganos, this is still good. There are many variations to this dish.

So, What is a typical Breakfast in your country?

¿Qué es un desayuno típico en tu país?

Let me know in the comment section !

Sort:  

Nasi Goreng...tambah teh manis itu saja kakak...sudah mantab betul...

Jadi kangen nasi goreng!

Curated and reblogged by @ASEAN.Hive on behalf of the ASEAN Hive Community.
⋆ ᴀ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ
⋆ ғᴏᴏᴅ, ᴛʀᴀᴠᴇʟ, ᴘʜᴏᴛᴏɢʀᴀᴘʜʏ, ᴘᴏʟɪᴛɪᴄs, ᴀʀᴛ, ᴍᴏᴠɪᴇ ʀᴇᴠɪᴇᴡs & ᴍᴏʀᴇ
⋆ sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ʜᴇʀᴇ
⋆ ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴏᴜʀ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ

Nice, you have a good idea @livinguktaiwan :D

I read through it last night, made me hungry especially the Japanese breakfast.

Yeah ...
This indeed looks like a western breakfast, because it eats bread.
Because in Indonesia it's breakfast rice.

yep, indonesian eats rice for breakfast :)

Many western cultures seem to have defaulted to cereals for breakfast. I guess it's a quick, easy way for everyone to feed themselves before they rush off to work and/or school. Yet the traditional English breakfast is still considered to be a "fry up"; eggs, bacon, beans and sausages, maybe with some fried tomatoes or mushrooms. Some prefer the "continental breakfast" which hints at it being what they have on the main European continent, although probably more French. That would be coffee, tea or juice with rolls or toast and jam.

We did seen to have lost some of our food traditions as the world has grown closer. Not a bad thing to mix things up, but still nice to hold onto traditions.

I live in Australia now and I guess for a true Australian traditional breakfast we would have to ask the indigenous Australians. 😁

I would say continental is one of my typical breakfast too. I love the fry up ! it's so filling. But since I need to shed some pounds, continental it is. Indonesian typical breakfast is already like main dish and heavy. I think that would be nice if you can ask the indegenous people! I heard it may be similar to people in papua and papua new guinea?