The Talks (Pros & Cons) Of Being In The "She" Gender

in Cross Culture24 days ago

I had a lot of throwback thoughts when I saw this topic, right from my childhood days to being an adult, one thing doesn't seem to have changed much. The fact that I am in the female (she) gender category and still get a lot advantages alongside disadvantages for being one of them.

I think it is same for both genders, we all have one or two reasons to be grateful about the gender we belong to. I don't even want to talk about those who have succeeded in confusing the gender they belong to lol.

As one in the female gender, I've got a lot to say about the pros and cons in being one.

Modern Aesthetic Virtual Assistant Carousel Instagram Post_20240523_113756_0000.jpg
Image designed with Canva

Every gender has got stereotypes following them in various countries and since I'm not vast on other countries, I'll focus on my country and what the female gender have to face here for being a female. Of course, the male have theirs but I want to write about my own gender since I'm one of them.

In my part of the world and for a long time now, the female gender seem to be the ones who have to work less in the aspect of making money but work hard in keeping the homes running clean and organized. There are men who do better at this job but when we think of homes, we think women. I don't know if this is an advantage or a disadvantage but it's a good thing it is becoming a balance among both genders.

Now, women who work aren't tagged as people who are seeking to be powerful against men but to be more helpful and useful to their families. Aside the responsibilities of bearing and taking care of children, one of the female gender duties, there are small advantages I'd love to share.

A lot of people do say the female gender do not struggle to get money for what they need as much as the male gender does because the men are mostly the ones who give ladies the money. I can not give count of the number of times this fact has been proven to me and even I have experienced it a lot.

Guys tend to give up their money to ladies than the ladies do. If this is an advantage, it has got it's cons too which I won't explain much about. The female gender have a lot more organizations created for their sake if you would notice.

together-5928481_1280.jpg
Source

Women are weaker vessels (still a debate though) and so there are many organizations supporting or helping them overcome situations. There is one against girls getting raped, husbands using violence on them and there are many others all created to make sure women are safe with their help. This, I think is an advantage.

Of course, I know the men got theirs going for them but in a lot of instances, it has proven that the women who are tagged as weak have more supports if they choose to use it as a right. This advantage is a reminder of the disadvantage for the female gender, they are so prone to dangers and bad situations.

Out of 100 women, we could have 80% of them being threatened by one form of danger or the other because of the known fact that they are weaker. Only the strong ones among them escape these situations or turn it into an opportunity for themselves.

I'll agree with the gender equality arguement because I think men and women have theirs to deal with in this world, I believe God isn't impartial with how he shared the goodies and struggles for each gender.

This is my entry to the May Inleo Prompt Challenge with the focus on "Gender as an advantage or disadvantage". Don't know what to write on Hive today? You're invited to participate.

20240101_094050_0000.jpg

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Gender equity is a controversial topic. If we keep taking about it then it will stop. There are many advantages and disadvantages to being a female but most females only focus on the disadvantages. I think females are not so weak they pretend to be.

Yeah, I think so too. We are a lot stronger than we think or choose to be.