Passport: A gateway beyond the world you see

in Cross Culture15 days ago (edited)

In our world today, many are leaving their countries to live in another country, either for greener pastures or due to reasons best known to them. We have quite large numbers of immigrants, and some countries don't even want anyone to migrate to their country anymore because there are not enough available resources for them.

photo-1553697388-94e804e2f0f6.jpeg

source

One of the essential things that everyone should have in their possession is their international passport. I was surprised when a coursemate asked me yesterday about the importance of an international passport. At first, I asked him if he had, but he replied no.

He wanted to do some international online verification, and he was using his NIN (National Identification Number) and was complaining that it wasn't accepted. I couldn't help but laugh because it was funny to me. He was using his Nigerian identification number for international verification.

A passport is like a first step to entering the outside world beyond one's geographical location. It is a wing for flight outside one's locality; it gives one the grace to explore other countries' diversities.

Possessing an international passport allows one to travel to the countries one desires. It is an opportunity key because one might have the grace to either study abroad, go on vacation, go on visitation, or even relocate completely. What then happens if you don't have the first item to grab the opportunity?

Thanks to the government for making the process of owning a passport a bit less trouble these days by putting the immigration services to work. Although it is still a bit stressful, one can endure that much to own such a vital document. When I was going to get mine, I went directly to the immigration office and registered. Afterward, I was given a date to come for capturing. The essence of this capturing is to capture one's face and make sure one is the sole owner of the passport.

The day I was to have my capture, I got there as early as I could, thinking it wouldn't take more than an hour and two hours maximum, but as usual, the Nigerian network system is not so reliable. I ended up spending hours at the immigration office, leaving around 5 p.m. when I got there as early as 7 a.m. Fortunately enough, I was able to attain the capture, and I left after completing the due process. I had to wait for almost five months, if not more, before it was ready for collection, as there were lots of challenges then due to the new laws reinstated by the government on immigration.

A passport is to be owned even when one is not planning to travel. An opportunity can spring up at any time for one to travel out of one's country, and what could be more exciting than having the opportunity to explore other nations' cultures? Learning more about how things are being done in other countries, how they live, the food they eat, and lots more.

I am a Nigerian, and with a Nigerian passport, I can travel to quite a number of countries with just my ticket and passport. Although some require a visa, nevertheless, having the opportunity to explore is all that matters.

Here is my entry into #aprilinleo monthly and daily prompts. You can participate via this LINK

Thanks for your time, and your comments will be appreciated.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

True, if you have an appointment at the immigration office, just prepare to spend the whole day. Passport is surely our gateway to to other nations.. Good script and here

It's tiring, thanks for reading boss.

You're welcome

Congratulations @rare-gem! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking