How to do Twitter right - Beat the algorithm!

in Cross Culture3 years ago (edited)

I am passionate about bringing people to Hive, especially through building my own audience which is both on and off Hive, and helping them connect with each other. As you may have read me state before, I find Twitter to be the best mainstream social media platform for achieving this.

If you have learned anything about the Twitter algorithm or social media algorithms in general though, this shall come as no surprise to you… Twitter does not like you taking people off the platform. That is why tweets with links are punished. They are shown to far fewer people.

Add this to the fact that clicking links is a call to action and requires more of a commitment and takes people out of their scrolling rhythm. This leads to less likes which leads to even less views that you get after being punished by the algorithm for posting a link.

In general the algorithm rewards you for getting a high percentage of likes to views in the first few views. If 5 of the first 10 people who see your tweet like it, the tweet is going to be shown to anyone who has ever liked your tweets and even some people who don’t even follow you. If it received 0 likes among the first 10 views, no one else will ever see it.

So you HAVE to get a few of the first people to like your tweet, otherwise it's not even worth sharing.

Even before being punished by the algorithms, your Hive link is kind of screwed unless you are followed by a ton of Hivesters who like all your posts. But even then, Twitter knows that only certain people (who are all connected) are always liking your tweets with links and so it probably won’t show the post to anyone who hasn’t liked your links before.

Does that mean an initiative like POSH is totally useless? No, it can be incredibly useful in bringing eyes to Hive, but you need to use a trick for it to really be effective.

Leave an interesting an engaging tweet with no link and leave the link in the comments.

That's it.

This gets around the algorithm because when people like the initial post. They are likely to see the link in the comments too, and they are much more likely to LIKE the tweet if it’s an interesting bit than if it’s just a link. So you are not only getting the algorithms on your side, your also getting human psychology on your side. Once people are engaged with something more interesting than a link, they are already in your world and much more likely to click on a link.

At the end of my original tweet I say something like “keep reading 👇👇👇” or “check it👇👇👇”. This works just fine.

This method is good for you and it’s good for Hive.


~~~ embed:1438102056494002177 twitter metadata:aXBsdXNldmVyeXRoaW5nfHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tL2lwbHVzZXZlcnl0aGluZy9zdGF0dXMvMTQzODEwMjA1NjQ5NDAwMjE3N3w= ~~~

EDD3E73E-41B1-499E-9F3D-E36963FC91D9.png

Case study

I am quite engaged on Twitter and get an average of 20 likes per tweet, usually 1-2 likes coming from Hivesters.

Tweet A

When posting only a link to My hive/peakd blog post, I usually get 1-5 likes, 0 comments, . And no clicks. Most of these likes are from Hivesters with one or two strays who don't click.

I usually get 10+ views on peakd but that usually correlates with how many comments/retweets I get from Hive users.

Tweet B

When using the method I stated above, I get between 20-30 likes and 3 comments on the initial tweet, and around 10 likes on the link tweet, with 8 link clicks. 8 doesn’t seem like a lot, but out of 30 who likes the initial tweet, that’s actually extremely good. An advertisement with almost a 30% click rate is like a holy grail.

I’ll get 20+ views on peakd, which is about twice the amount of comments/retweets I get from Hivesters.

This is all in the first 24 hours, I got another like and click while I was writing this.

You can track how many people click your link at Twitter analytics.

It’s important to note that there are many factors I haven't measured here. How good was the tweet? Was it relevant to my Twitter following? How often do I leave tweets with links?

I suspect that even if you leave links in the comments, the effectiveness will go down if all your tweets have a call to action in the comments. I imagine it’s probably best to leave links in the comments of 10-25% of your tweets. Anything more than that will likely turn people off.

I personally leave links to blogs that I’m particularly proud of especially blogs that address the kind of people that I’ve connected to on Twitter. In my case that would be language learners and Japanese speakers (although my following is evolving).

So I tweet about once a day and link to Hive about once a week. Combined with a habit of following interesting people and interacting for about 10 minutes a day, I think this is the best way to spread your Hive blog through Twitter for your sake and for the ecosystems sake.

I hope this was helpful and I hope it helps spread Hives overall reach on Twitter.

🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎

My music:

My lazy vlogs:

my mini-novella series:

Confessions of the Damaged - Out Now!

Confessions_of_the_Damaged_1.1_cover_final.png

🎬Self Help For Trolls

🎸I + Everything

📕 Confessions of the Damaged OUT NOW :-)

F4CD1B1ECCD442A1B52D9F956DCA8A5B.gif

Come join Hive Cross Culture and Join our discord

Please consider delegating to @crossculture or following our trail 🙂

🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱

Sort:  

Thanks so much for sharing your strategy :) @dreemsteem @dreemport @wil.metcalfe please read.

!PIZZA !ALIVE

Interesting!

So this is what works for you. Personally i am not a fan of social media, I hardly use it.. that is one of the reasons for me to avoid posh besides them asking me to join their discord channel.
Post the links in the response and tweet links not more than once a week.. need to tell my friend about this.

I am trying to be my own boss, which means I need to find my own clients. I also have music and fiction to share. And lastly, I think most people here don't know how to catch new Hive users and we don't have a CEO or company so if we don't no one will. So that's why I'm on social media. ;-)

Good on you.. Hope you strike it right. Best wishes to you.

Leave an interesting an engaging tweet with no link and leave the link in the comments.

Brilliant! This just about answered my questions about Twitter and the links I post. I saw your said tweet yesterday and wondered why you dropped the link in a comment. Makes so much sense now.

Thanks for sharing how to effectively spread my hive blog via Twitter! Very helpful. Reblogged. 😊

:-D Really appreciate your retweets. I will try to throw some your way too though I don't see your tweets often

I don't tweet often except when I post on hive and need to drop the link in the ocd twitter-posh channel on discord. The Nigerian government ban on Twitter doesn't help as I have to put on my VPN every time I need to access my Twitter. It's an inconvenience! 🤷‍♀️

I appreciate the thought. 🙂

Ahhh I understand....VPN is worse when internet is unstable, I know very well!

isolate 4-5 good quotes from the piece ... those become separate tweets spread out over time and then add your link in a comment on each of them..

now you have 4-5 unique tweets going to the same destination.

That’s a very good idea. I’ve tried it before and it can go well if I time it right.

Thanks for sharing this experience, there are so many things to learn on how social medias are working !

There is a lot of information on YouTube. Basically the best thing to do is focus on building relationships

wow thank your for this article! I should try this later. :D

You Are Alive and have been rewarded with 0.1 ALIVE tokens from the We Are Alive Tribe, and it's paid for by the earnings on @alive.chat, swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thanks for the tip. I'll try this out.!LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@selfhelp4trolls, you've been given LUV from @sidekickmatt.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/1)