Sort:  

Singing in our own languages was something I started taking for granted because I saw it as the standard or norm everywhere. But reading this reminds me of how almost everyone in the west is singing in English. I guess there really is beauty in the unique nature of the songs around here. We just seem to lose the ability to see it because we’re living it and it’s become so normal to us.

A friend of mine was telling me last week she was considering going to this Pure Akan show in Accra last week. I didn’t understand why at first, but she explained that the he was really good, his tickets were cheaper, and you get to actually see the show in comfort as compared to the expensive stadium-size shows most of the popular artists we love hold. I’m definitely going to check him out now.

As for Worlasi, House Portay is (was*) the only song I’ve heard from him and I’m honestly surprised how I didn’t look into him much after that. I liked House Portay. It had this cool relaxing tune to it, ideal to play at house parties (pun intended, but true. Lol) and the message was basically knowing your level and staying in your lane. After listening to Veku, I’m liking him even more as it seems calm singing is his style. There’s no shouting or high pitched sounds there and his stuff will be good for relaxing.

Everyone else here, I just discovered thanks to you, which is actually a bit embarrassing given that they’re my country folk. Anyways, you have some good taste, man. Thanks for showcasing these talents:)

Well, I think France and Germany and Spain sing in their own languages, but English is pretty much the standard for the world right now. Maybe that will change at some point, but some of us didn't have anything else growing up.

My decision to move overseas actually started when a big 8 country benefit concert (Live 8) was televised in America but they cut out all the French and German and Japanese and South African artists who didn't sing in English. I was so angry about it, I refused to look for a job in America after that. "Melting Pot my ass!!" I thought.

Yo, small shows are SOOOO much better than big ones, at least I feel they are. I grew up going to those kind of punk shows and now I see folk or hip hip or electronic but I only go to small shows unless its for an absolute favorite artist who happens to be famous. Way more personal and human.

Didn't really catch "House Portay" but it's got that signature Worlasi vibe. "Chant" "Comot" and "Fokoo" are three other favorites I didn't put up here.

You don't have to be embarrassed. This is what I do :-) I spent 15 years in China and Japan doing the same thing, and I got a bit stuck not really able to travel or move around so I did it for Ghana through Twitter. Dabbled a bit in some other countries as well, but probably went deeper on Ghana than anywhere else. If you want a random ass international mix, I made a youtube playlist with 3 of these artists and a bunch more of various styles from a few dozen countries : Earth music

If anything catches your ear, go dig! Feel free to ask any questions too :-D

Thanks man. I’ll definitely check the Earth Music collection out. You should make more of these music collections. Lol who knows, your posts could debut many undiscovered talents.

Have you ever shuddered just from reading lyrics? That's how I felt as I read the lyrics from Jealousy. Especially these lines....

I'm jealous that the colour of your skin
Makes the brother with my skin
Feel like they need to treat you way better
I'm jealous that the color of my skin
Makes the brother with your skin
Kinda proud feeling like they way better

Sent a chill through my spine at the absolute accuracy it had. It's wonderful that you're delving deep into things like these. I'm African yet there are so many things I, whether intentionally or ignorantly, choose not to see. But you've brought them to limelight now. And it's enough to be grateful for.

Have you ever shuddered just from reading lyrics?
Of course I have!

I just dig! :-) it's what I do. And if I find treasure I try to share it. The Worlasi lyrics were really hard for me. So much I want to say but not really a time or place for me to say them. Maybe I will do a post just on this song at some point and ask for the opinions of my Nigerian and Ghanian friends here. I thought about it, but I wanted to introduce all these artists together first, and this post was a year in the making...been meaning to do it this whole time, but it took a lot of work and I kept getting bogged down with other things.

So I'll get around to that one at some point too, and if you ever wanna talk about it with a dude on the other side of the world, I'm down :-D

Loved reading this post so much mate! Amazing artists, have to say Wuieve by Enam and "Running" is my fav ones so far but I will for sure look into all these artists more!! :)

Glad you liked it! I'm sure you can find more stuff you like from Ghana

This is a whole world of music that I am completely unfamiliar with. Thanks for introducing me!

I was just as unfamiliar before that guy added me on twitter. Very thankful to him. Still want to do a deep dive on his label

I love Afro music more and that’s my favorite genre. Music United everyone in every part of the world…

hope you enjoyed these artists 😃

Woooooh! There is a whole lot of songs collection here. It is evident how deep you think about everything you come across in your life.

Music and Art are reflective of culture. Sometimes, they make you understand the cultures. At other times, you need to have understanding of the culture to make bettwr sense of the art piece


Want to Know more about Hivepakistan?

Ping Us On Hive Pakistan Discord server

To support HivePakistan, delegate Hive Power to hivepakistan and earn 90% curation reward :)

Here are some handy links for delegation


| 50 HP | 100 HP |500 HP | 1000 HP | 5000 HP | 10000 HP | 20000 HP |

A delegation of 500 or more HP makes you earn Hivepakistan supporter badge.

maybe one day I will dig deep into Pakistani music. But if I do I will make sure I can introduce some music that even most locals don’t know 😃. For now I’m a big fan of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan

Thank you for reading!!

Woooha! You remembered that I am Pakistani.
And above that you are a fan of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. He was a legend, no doubt. So do you understand him.

There is a contemporary singer whom I really like. Sanam Marvi. Let me share a work of hers

This is beautiful. I enjoyed reading every part of this post.

I have a flare for music generally but I've not been bold to come out of my comfort zone to check out and explore other cultures music and all. I've always listened to different genres on Afro music and a little bit of Raps and music from the westerners(US, Uk and the likes).

With your experience about all this songs and people, I think i'm intrigued to check them all out and also start my Journey on exploring different music genres from different country, culture and tribe.

Thanks for sharing dear friend.

please listen to the songs 😃

And if you want to hear music from dozens of countries, I made a playlist:
https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLAED9gzNn_uIb3ZOZ-eOpjeLG4JirJjhy&si=a_JwGtESwytXpIko

Oh great.
This makes it so easier.
Thanks 🥂

I love how one little thing triggers a cavalcade of stuff 😆

how do you think I ended up in Japan!?

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @depressedfuckup.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more