You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Comparing Asians & African Food; What Determines The Unique Eating Habits Of Most Nigerians?

The only luxury I really care about is food. I don’t buy really expensive meals but I eat out often and I’m so used to variety. My hometown is near NYC and so we have a different countries good every day. For me, American food was Greek on Monday, Chinese on Tuesday, Italian on Wednesday, Thai on Thursday, Mexican on Friday, Turkish on Saturday and Japanese on Sunday. I’m exaggerating, but that feels more American to me than hamburgers and hotdogs. Even the dining hall in University felt like that. This is by far my favorite thing about America but luckily Japanese enjoy showing off their worldliness so I can continue eating this way.

I love a lot of food that most Americans can’t eat though, congealed duck blood or pork blood from Taiwan being the one they like they least.

I really like the Tilapia I had at a Nigerian restaurant, and Dodo, I could probably eat dodo every day.

These days my favorite foods are Indonesian Nasi Campur and Ethiopian dishes, though there are only two Ethiopian restaurants in Tokyo. Also, I like to buy sushi at half price after 8 pm 😃.

It’s fun to see how different countries react to different food. I should write something on this.

Sort:  

America feels like a mixed culture this means that even foreign food has come to stay and this should probably be because of a lot of immigrants coming in and settling; setting up varieties of businesses and of course establishing a mainstay.
In Nigeria this isn't so, our food is our food as we don't have a lot of immigrants coming in but I can categorically tell you that Nigeria has arguably the best kind of foods in Africa. I didn't know you have eaten any of Nigerian dishes before.
I think you should try jollof rice and probably pounded yam and egusi soup, this are some exotic highlights you know.
I'll like to read your experiences regarding these foods you've eaten and your thoughts concerning them. Thanks a million for dropping by always.