You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cross Culture through media : The Asian Kill or Be Killed Flick

I am really not into gore and so this wasn't entirely my thing. It was made well though. I liked it for the same reason as Game of Thrones, they both portray how the same people can be sinners and saints. There are no good and bad guys.

I like media that help us process pain by giving it meaningful context. The first time I felt this was through American Beauty. Most recently I've found a few anime that do this very very well. The most recent are Made in Abyss (whose soundtrack I obsessed over) and Violet Evergarden. Both have a sense of hope despite being utterly brutal in some aspects but neither is nearly as violent as the films I mentioned above.

I think Squid Game was just kind of candy compared to these, it may have had some meaning behind it but it didn't make me feel very much. Just very entertaining. I'd recommend those anime above this for sure

Sort:  

Made in Abyss is manga right? Can't believe that Anime can be totally filled with gore, I mean, it doesn't seem like things that correlate. Nevertheless, i'm considering taking a look at it since im already inquisitive about it. Not that I want to see the gore, but I just want to look at how the writers will specifically fit in gore into manga.

Made in abyss isn't that gory. It just hits the subconscious hard because the character is essentially slowly plunging to her death even though she's really excited about the adventure.

I haven't watched it but I heard Berserk is pretty gory.