You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inheriting my fears from my parents

There is definitely some differences, but many people from developed countries came from underdeveloped countries or witnessed their own country when it was less developed and carried their fears through generations. My parents as well, even though they didn’t experience that themselves, my grandparents definitely did. When they came to America they were very poor and they had lost everything back in their home country due to war and persecution.

Also, I think my parents attitude about being an entrepreneur may be shaped by seeing how continued development makes running your own business less and less profitable as the price of doing business goes up. I find my friends in Asia (aside from Japan) have parents who are much more open to the idea of starting a business because the cost of renting space and hiring people hasn’t become too stressful to imagine it.

I guess that fears tend to seem more rational in developing countries, whether they are helpful or not. Even in developing countries, the situation may be better for the younger generation but old fears lead to bad judgements by parents. As the situation gets better, the fears become less and less rational.

This is a big topic!!

Sort:  

You are right, the situation is somehow less complex in developing countries.
The topic is interesting, and I am sure many will join us in the conversation.
Thank you so much
Peace