The thing I hate the very most in the world…

in Cross Culture3 years ago (edited)

7B41DA20-119C-404B-9DC9-D97910317F68.jpeg

I try to be all about love and appreciation. I try to step outside of myself and look at things as objectively as possible. I’m still having a subjective experience though…so maybe from an objective point outside of the ego, there is nothing wrong with complicated sign up procedures and slow customer service, but subjectively, I hate it with a passion!

I started today off particularly well. I worked on my novel for the first time in 6 months. I edited for about 3 hours and re-read everything to get ready to start writing some new chapters in the next few days.

I was planning on signing up for wifi at around 2:30 pm. The first company told us we had to pay an extra $200 for installation because our current little whatever box is incompatible with their company’s service. They also tried to suck me into some weird plans that looked like a bad deal and so I checked out another company.

Both shops had very few people but I still had to wait for an hour at each before I could talk to someone. The second company seemed to be a better deal but they were a little less clear and in the end it ended up costing a little more than the other company but they waived the installation fee.

The whole process of inquiry and signup at two shops took 3 and half hours and in the end he asked me to come back tomorrow! Arrrggg

The original plan was to come home and keep editing, but after that I am drained of inspiration. I just want to stare into space and rant about how I want to stare into space.

In Japan, it seems the cheapest wifi costs about $65 a month and it costs $100-$200 if you try to cancel. I’ve never understood how a cancelation fees are legal unless someone has moved heaven and earth to serve you and they will be making a loss if you quit. They’ll literally lose nothing if I decide to quit except for my future payments which don’t belong to them. Why is it legal to lock me into a contract like that or deny me service?

Well ok, there is an option to be able to leave the contract any time…if you pay an extra $20 a month, so in the end it’s the same….

Since I was young I could never understand how consumers put up with this. I literally stopped using internet/cell phone service except for borrowed wifi and a prepaid SIM card for 6 years because I feel like these companies rob people as much as they offer services.

But alas prepaid SIMs aren’t a thing here and I’m working almost entirely online these days, so I need the service.

The thing that angers me the most about these situations is how people general don’t see the parallels between this and corruption or scamming, and if they do they just accept it. In the first world we look at other countries and imagine that we live in much more honest and straightforward societies. There may or may not be truth to that but I feel the only thing that sets us apart is that the rules more formalized. The rules can protect you or they can destroy you. It just depends on who is writing them and what their intentions are. It’s not that corruption doesn’t exist at every level of society in the first world, it’s just formalized into processes that benefit those who already have power, and we accept it much easier because that just seems to be the way it’s done.

Calm down Zack. Everything is a learning experience. Every moment is a gift.

I miss the days where I could pay some dude for a wifi box and hook it up in 3 minutes, or buy a SIM card in the convenience store and put it in my phone and call people right away.

Is this crazy process just a Japan thing?

The good news is that I changed my mobile so that I get 20gb a month instead of 3-6 gb. No more wifi getting slow before the 20th of the month.

After this we just need to get a table and a fridge and then go to city hall and we are finally moved into the new house.

But I still have to learn how to set up automatic payments for gas, electricity and water by the end of the month.

And then after that it’s about time to start figuring out my taxes for the year so I’m not in a rush during the winter because I need to renew my visa then….oh jeez.

This is exactly why I tried to escape society for 6 years. I feel so completely drained from all these processes and in the end, I’m left wondering why it’s not easier, but there is no answer that anyone can give you that actually makes sense.

That’s just the way it is. I hope these old red tape processes are all incinerated when crypto becomes widely adopted. I can’t think of any part of living in society that I despise more.

I may have another rant like this when I have to renew my visa again, sorry about that!

🤬🤬🤬🤬🤬🤬🤬

I’ll do my best to appreciate these terribly frustrating moments as reminders to enjoy every other moment of life to the fullest, and then try to enjoy the contrast found in these moments….but yeah, no thanks to this stuff please!

🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎

My music:

My lazy vlogs:

my mini-novella series:

Confessions of the Damaged - Out Now!

Confessions_of_the_Damaged_1.1_cover_final.png

🎬Self Help For Trolls

🎸I + Everything

📕 Confessions of the Damaged OUT NOW :-)

F4CD1B1ECCD442A1B52D9F956DCA8A5B.gif

Come join Hive Cross Culture and Join our discord

Please consider delegating to @crossculture or following our trail 🙂

🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱

Sort:  

I reckon it's so convoluted partly because there's support for some legacy systems built in so that stuff that was being processed during the process changes didn't get lost (doesn't always work, often makes things worse) and partly to justify middle management busywork/existence x_x

Manage to get it all done?

Well the process has a process and rules seem to have rules. In Japan there's an extra fear of pissing off customers who are used to being treated by perfect robots employees. Oh weellllll

LoL the outlaws are over at the moment and I shared this with them and mother in law reckons it sounds like Double Jeopardy over there XD

Who's trying to drain life out of my friend?

I think I have an idea what you're going through but I cannot say I know what you feel. Over here we pay a lot for data and at the end of the day the data gets drain as fastly as it came. It gets frustrating and I tend to spend a lot more just to ensure I stay online.
Adding to that is the prices of foodstuffs going up. Nowadays $1 can't get you a good meal and at the end of the you'll spend more when you add gas bills and light bills.

For someone who doesn't have a steady source of income it gets really frustrating.

Well ok, there is an option to be able to leave the contract any time…if you pay an extra $20 a month, so in the end it’s the same….

I wonder why this is so, they sure are having fun frustrating customers for something you'll be paying your hard earned money for.

It's painful and tiring, If only there was an island full with natural things where I could go live peaceful and not think about all the worries that comes with being in the society.

Im sorry about the experiences, and I'm looking forward to reading that novel!..

Have a great day

I believe you. I think this is just what happens when a few bad apples have power though, it doesn't matter where.

I try to share mostly good vibes but it's fun to see the similarities and differences with this kind of thing, even if it sucks everywhere lol

Nobody is trying to drain the life out of me, just my wallet and my time but there’s lots of good in my life, so I’m trying to get past it quick.

Thanks man!

I believe you. I think this is just what happens when a few bad apples have power though, it doesn't matter where

Yeah true, they tend to frustrate others.

I try to share mostly good vibes but it's fun to see the similarities and differences with this kind of thing, even if it sucks everywhere lol

It's good though so we all can have an insight into each other's lives. Every thing isn't all rossy and sweet everytime, challenges always come

Nobody is trying to drain the life out of me, just my wallet and my time but there’s lots of good in my life, so I’m trying to get past it quick.

Lol I'm glad. Yeah surely, it's just a matter of time, you'll look back and remember days like this...

Take care,❤️

Life strongly is everywhere, we are all faced with daily challenges, not minding location we are found, but the exciting thing is we can always s strongle to be better...and exploit all opportunity we find...

Yeah, there are all kinds of challenges everywhere. This is hardly the worst kind of challenge, just got a little heated

haha I have been through this a few times. It's like banging your head against a wall. Speaking of which, it's visa renewal season soon so I get to play that gaijin lottery again haha

Lottery? Lol just get on the conveyer belt. You'll get through.

I feel you buddy. I am so happy to have this portable wifi device without a contract, since the start of this year. It's the polar opposite of the terrible contract I had with the company that provided wifi in my ex-house on the cold mountain. They totally ripped me off and their service was terrible. A prime example of a company with a monopoly and bad service ( literally and figuratively ).

Now I pay 30 euros for 30 days of internet ( or 15 for 15 days ) and whenever I run out, I pay for more days. It's totally up to me when to renew the contract, so I can even travel and not pay ( if the 15 or 30 days are over ).

Keep enjoying the contrast!

I kind of feel like an idiot now for not asking about the portable box, but I worry that those have worse service and since I'm gonna be earning almost everything online in the future, I thought I'd better try regular wifi...even if trying it means 2 years!

Why is this shit legal tho, it's not legal for me to demand a fee from them.

That's a reasonable price for reliable and portable internet. I don't really understand why we accept these companies that bully us into contracts by dominating the market. If I'm not 100% satisfied with this wifi I'm gonna change to a system like that. It might be a little more complicated in Japan, but I don't want to give money to companies that lock you in.

I had similar problems but not directly up to me to provide a solution. I'm just sharing some space with family and pay for the internet. We got locked in a contract for 2 years and only after 2 years can we cancel on our subscription. The only route was to not pay and get cut off from the service prematurely + a lot of charges.

They were fine with having another service provider coexisting but the contract must be honored to have us paying for up to 2 years. I don't know how to make of it but seems like a shady deal from the start. Anyway, not entirely my burden to bear as I just contribute to the bill voluntarily as a nice gesture. The service ain't bad, just sucks when you know there's an even better alternative out there.

It seems like this kind of thing happens almost everywhere. With all the rules and laws everywhere I can't understand why locking people into contracts for important services is legal... It's not like they are taking a huge risk by offering you service.

I feel that, man. I have been wanting to homestead and get out of the USA system for a while. However, it seems nearly impossible due to taxes and red tape. Best of luck to you with this leg of your journey, as well as the endeavors of near and distant future!

I've drifted around looking for ways to escape the system. In the end it was too uncomfortable and to decided to go back in and not take any of it seriously. It's alright 99 days out of 100. But yeah, I'm mostly here to gather resources to find people to build our own little secret country lol

To my own view I don't think any where is honest because the way someone is being treated in a place which you will it is bias, when you get to another place it is still the same thing everywhere

There are similar things that just take a different appearance or style. That applies to the good and the bad

Yes that's my point

This is actually helping. Everything i read something it feels like we are learning very similar lessons. I can relate to you a lot. I just remembered an issue i have and told myself: 'one step at a time, one thing after another. Thank you for sharing this.

The patterns are fascinating, right? A lot of times we find ourselves in the same position as friends around the world :-D