My Serbian music journey so far

in Cross Culture3 years ago (edited)

I started learning songs in Serbo-Croatian a few years ago.
When I first started learning the language, I looked up Serbian folk music, which led me first to a group called 'Belo Platno.'
I instantly fell in love with etno music, and one of the first songs I tried to translate was 'Vrbice Vrbo Zelena.'(little willow green)
Here it is by Belo Platno.



This is my version of Vrbice Vrbo Zelena.



Eventually, I found a Serbian tutor, and she helped me translate one of my songs into Serbian. 'How are you, cat?' is the first of hopefully many songs that I play in more than one language.
How are you, cat?(English version)



Kako si Mačko(Serbian version)



I learned the next song on a sidewalk in Sarajevo. A busker was singing it there, and it was so powerful...
I looked the song up as soon as I got back to my room, and found that it was called 'Čudna jada od Mostara grada.'



Here is my(current) version of Čudna jada od Mostara grada, sung from a garage with an Irish bodhran.



I learned both of these songs by watching 'Dobro Jutro, Komšija.' The Dobro Jutro films and series were and still area big part of how I am learning the language.
I am currently working on versions of both of them, and I am close to having versions that I am happy with. I am close...


Pješke idem iz grada by Bora Drljača.
I actually spent the first month of my time in Bosnia in Visoko because of the "bio sam u Visoko" verse in this song.



This is the theme song from the series 'Dobro Jutro, Komšija.'
I learned the phrase "ne daj Bože" from this song:)
It means something like "God forbid" in English.



When I was in Bosnia, I was introduced to both Božo Vrećo and Branimir Štulić. I know that I need to improve my linguistic skills before I try to sing either one...


I am hoping that my love for the music will fill in any gaps that I leave in my language studies. I do learn new phrases, words and synonyms with every song. I also get a feel of the declension system and Slavic poetic flair!

Sort:  

Hey, quite good interpretation of the song in Serbian.
In case you haven’t heard this song yet, you may like it.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received an upvote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

🎶 Join us on our Discord Server! 🎵

Love it ALL!!!!!🥰

I'm glad you like it @artedellavita:D

The music you are singing is not my cup of tea since I am from a rock and roll background by listening to Partibrejkersi, Obojeni Program, KUD Idioti, etc. At the same time, I am impressed by your skills and devotion and that you are singing in Serbo-Croat dialects since you have learned the language. Respect :) !

Thank you! I speak the language very poorly, but the songs are helping with my vocabulary and word order:)