🌎🌎🌎 Cross Culture Question: What kind of stereotypes do people have about your country? What about Austria? (ccq)

in Cross Culture β€’ 4 years ago

I stumbled accross This Post from @nainaztengra talking about India which lead me to the Cross Culture Question - Contest started by @abundance.tribe
This is my entry for this topic...


austria.png

First things first, some of you might don't even now where my huge and famous country is located </ sarcasm>
Let me give you a hint:

detailed_location_map_of_austria.jpg
Source

Austria has a long history. Beeing a big empire until the first world war (1914-1918) going through the second world war (1939-1945) as a part of the German Reich ending as a rather small but independend country as it is now.

Often confused with Australia there are many many stereotypes about my country. Some of them became sort of a daily joke.
Lets take a look at the most popular ones:
line.jpg

"people in countries like Austria live in the forest" - Donald Trump


Yeah, good old Donald Trump won't let us down when it comes to weird statements...

Only a few days ago, there was some interview regarding the current fires in California.
Trump says people in countries like Austria "live in the forest" and have "forest cities." He says in these areas they "have more explosive trees" than California, but don't have the same kind of fire problems.

Well, no, we do not live in the forest. And we are also not aware of any exploding trees.
However ... the memes went viral:

pic3.jpg


pic1.jpg

The interview can be found here

line.jpg

Ah yes, Austria, kangoroos right?


Every Austrian knows the struggle. Sometimes it is even hard to tell if others are joking or serious. But just to make it clear:

main-qimg-97e4ec054384e3dce5169762629798d9.jpg

Nothing more to explain here I hope :D

line.jpg

But the Schnitzels are a thing?!


Yes! And that's a fact!
Every Austrian loves his Schnitzel. Except vegetarians/vegans I guess...
So, what is this Schnitzel?
Schnitzel is probably the most famous food from Austria. It is simply a thin slice of meat (mostly pork or chicken) breaded before frying in oil. Allthough the original Wiener Schnitzel (Viennese Schnitzel) is made of calf meat.
You usually get it served with french fries or potato salad.

panthermedia_B123462846_1920x1000.jpg
A golden pice from heaven! Source

line.jpg

Dirndl and Lederhosen


Allthough it is considered as traditional clothing and almost no one wears them on a daily basis in more rural areas the Dirndl and Lederhosen (leather trousers) is a bit more common.
However, tourists see them, tourists remember them. And that's how they look like, in case you have no idea what I am talking about:

meindl.jpg
Source

line.jpg

Where is your emperor?


Yeah "good" old times...
As explained at the beginning, Austria was quite huge, as you can see:

austro-hungary-map.jpg
Source
But war (in this case especially the first world war) changes everything.
Nevertheless Austrians still somehow stick to these old times. We have still a tight bond to the old masters of classical music (Mozart, Schubert, Strauss ... ) and we also love our old palaces.
One of the most famous ones is Schloss SchΓΆnbrunn in Vienna:

occ88sterreichn.jpg
Source

5.jpg
Source

line.jpg

This are probably the most common stereotypes - of which some are actually facts - of my country. I hope you have learned something new and if nothing else will keep in your mind, plese remember the difference between Austria and Australia ;)

Sort: Β 

One stereotype would be that it's the lazier version of Germany. In my experience that's only partially true, but in general Austrians do take it a bit easier, they are more chill. πŸ˜‚

Yep. That's actually true in the one or other way. From a business perspective Germans are often more accurate but also often less humorous :D

I concur πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, the Germans have no sense of humour. I found Austrians much more...humanπŸ˜„

I loved it, thank you. I'm from South-America and here, you do not hear too much about Austria...It was really interesting and funny.

Oh, nice to know a bit about Austria. Thanks for sharing. At least I know from before that Austria is not Australia! haha.

Many years ago, I would have gotten the chance to go there on a company trip but unfortunately, I didn't get the visa... so... yeah.. πŸ˜…

I love chicken Schnitzel, in Indonesia it's hard to find pork ones. They are often sold along with German cuisines. I really wonder if people ask, Austria, Kangaroo right? my stupid mistake would be ah, Austria, craft beer right?

Thanks! Due to not really knowing any Austrians in person (except maybe one or two I talked to casually at social gatherings) I know very little. Of course I know it’s not Australia and there are no kangaroos but now I know where that clothing comes from and am reminded of some famous names that I didn’t realize were Austrian

Those forest cities look fun, if they don’t exist, someone should make them. Hahaha trump watched Avatar and thought it took place in Austria?

Always welcome to our chat! Would love to see more of you here!