🏛️ Ancient Gate / Altes Tor [ENG/GER]

in Threespeak21 days ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


This pretty old building stands in a park on the Saar in Saarbrücken. I like it, especially in this sunny weather.

An der Saar in Saarbrücken steht diese hübsche alte Bauwerk in einem Park. Gefällt mir, gerade bei dem sonnigen Wetter.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

You led me on an interesting Google search!

That was fun.

So you were in the Bürgerpark Hafeninsel, that is the Wasserspiel.
"The park is traversed by a network of paths and paths. There is a parking lot under the west span, which is separated from the park by bush hedges. A larger area of ​​water through which a footbridge leads serves as a connection between the eastern and western parts. Foundations with red bricks were indicated in the water. The focus is on an artificial ruin : a water wall that is intended to be reminiscent of both a Roman aqueduct and (because of the use of red clinker bricks ) the ruins of an industrial plant." Source

😅 Excellent, Zak! Yes exactly that’s it! 🙌🏻 Thanks for letting me know what I discovered over here.😅

Because it was a landmark I thought it would be cool to try figure out where the picture was taken. You gave me the town name and the river... so I zoomed around a bit and found it. 😀

It’s an old building but still looking very strong