Sort:  

You look totally different to what I expected :)

Followed link to see something clearly on the FCA website version and am going to read that.

Saw a case cited between Epic and Google. Got distracted of course. Followed link and the file is no longer there. 404. Epic / Apple case is still there. This is the stuff that makes me nervous. See?

But will read the doc 👍

It might be worth taking snapshots of web archives etc as well before you share them with the court.

Not sure what doc you're referring to, we have absolutely everything squirrelled away. Epic vs Apple and Google in Australia is a case using a similar part of the law to the one we're using. That is set for a huge trial next year. They've been exchanging documents and expert opinions for months now.

Yes I get that. The link on your court doc giving the go ahead to serve - the link to the Google case is broken - 404.

So best to keep hard-copies is what I'm trying to suggest. Good that you are.

I'm quite swamped here and there is a LOT of info over there that I'm busy looking into - personal interest (as well now) and I do like to dig around and understand what's what.

I'll be going through it slowly over the next while.

I'm understanding that the docs listed on the Judgement giving leave to serve still need to be served to parties and that they then have a specific time to respond... so your next appearance will only be in some time (theoretically)?

Getting this done, 20 days (?) to respond and a court date etc.

This means I have time to get up to speed properly. Haven't done much reading yet as am not well right now but I'm seeing the issues of legalities (court locations as well as specific country laws etc) and the internet (obviously) first off.

This is super interesting and still relatively new, yeah? So I'm busy getting more au fait with the Hague Convention right now. I didn't know that this was in place for services etc as well until only yesterday actually.

Then on to Australian law.

I enjoyed your video and the way you speak, btw. I'm just rather impatient and I skim parts and then dash off to research what I don't understand etc. And often then get sidetracked with more points of interest.

It's not you. It's me.

Hague Convention was truly a side issue, during Covid some aspects of it were sidelined but by the time our leave to serve was granted we just used it: basically you upload your docs to a process server in the US, pay a few hundred dollars and they print it all out and dump it at Meta and Google's offices.

All this stuff happened last summer. We then had a back and forth exchange of documents up to Christmas (with an emergency court appearance along the way to have a disagreement over confidentiality sorted out by the judge). We then had our hearing at the start of Feb and now we wait for the Judgement from that which could take weeks or months.

All will be quiet till then.

Thanks for that. What a ride.

 

basically you upload your docs to a process server in the US, pay a few hundred dollars and they print it all out and dump it at Meta and Google's offices

 
That's nuts! And marvelous!

I'll meander along and see if I can catch up in time for the Judgement then (or the next round).

I don't believe it'll be that simple. Seems like they have a lot to lose so...

but perhaps I'm jaded. (which would be nice in this instance, actually!)

Enjoy the rest of your weekend. :D

Thank for sharing I enjoyed watching every part of the video, though I couldn't see the writings properly but it nice knowing more about this crypto case in Australia.

I appreciate you talking about the Court case. It must be tiring talking about this, I had to take a break listening !

it's ridiculous how they take it so serious! :P

Hello Brian

I wasn't aware of this case but I can see the huge importance of it and that it will become a precedent and potentially case law going forward. A huge move and I really hate that these companies believe they can get away with stuff like this, much power to you and I'll be following it. Thanks for standing up with the others and fighting the good fight.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people(@ura-soul) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @brianoflondon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 55000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Yes cool, that was very interesting! Thanks for reading it out and sharing your thoughts.

What will happen if they take this very seriously and it turns into a Behemoth? Is it possible to be overrun by the sheer amount of messaging work like in a movie?

It feels like there are others out there fighting comparable fights, very good2see.

Thanks for sharing this video, I really enjoyed the content. It was insightful, I know at the end of the day, bitcoin is going to survive. Still holding my bitcoin on the decentralized wallet application from https://atomicwallet.io/, where I can easily exchange a variety of coins on a single platform, with the in-built exchange.

Thanks for the update, been quite some time so I'm glad to hear you're both still plugging on with this class action!