Aint No Ash Will Burn -Walt Aldridge Cover - HIVE Open Mic 78

in Threespeak3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hey Folks

This is my song for week 78 of HIVE open mic.

I chose this song for the Lover (Amante) week because of the chorus...

"Love is a precious thing I’m told
It burns just like West Virginia coal
But when the fire dies down it’s cold
There ain’t no ash will burn"

"Aint No Ash Will Burn"
Walt Aldridge

I have seen snow that fell in May
And rain on cloudless days
Somethings in life are bound to change
There ain’t no ash will burn

Love is a precious thing I’m told
It burns just like West Virginia coal
But when the fire dies down it’s cold
There ain’t no ash will burn

You say this life is not your lot
Well I can’t be something that I’m not
We can’t stoke a fire that we ain’t got
There ain’t no ash will burn

In every life there comes a time
Where there are no more tears to cry
We must leave something dear behind
There ain’t no ash will burn

I have seen snow that fell in May
And I have seen rain on cloudless days
Somethings are always bound to change
There ain’t no ash will burn

Love is a precious thing I’m told
It burns just like West Virginia coal
But when the fire dies down it’s cold
There ain’t no ash will burn

There is one lesson I have learned
There ain’t no ash will burn


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Certainly, love is a precious, valuable thing that can burn like a sun, but it can also become the coldest and most hurtful ice floe in the world. This song you shared with everyone, is really beautiful, and I really liked the way you interpreted it, because even though I don't speak or understand much English, the feeling you bring to it is what attracted me to it. Beautiful interpretation, best regards.

Really beautiful, @celticheartbeat - and so nice to hear an accent from home... Blessings!

Thanks for the kind words. :) So your Scottish to? Nice , I think there's only about 12 of us here on HIVE. Do you plan to post in the open mic category? It would be amazing to hear some Scottish female vocals here.

If I build up the courage - I don't play an instrument but I do love to sing! Yes - I'm from Arran, and now live in a medieval quarter in south Italy :-D where we have a growing international community. Nice to 'meet you here'!