Splinterlands MAV AMA - September 13th, 2021

in Threespeak2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


My mic was not picked up during AMA, but here are the questions/comments I made during my speaking time:

"I started Splinterlands earlier this year after discovering it on Brave Rewards. It took a few weeks for me to join, just from natural hesitation, but after looking at it a few times, and after looking at prices on cards, looking at pack prices, and seeing the upcoming land expansion, I ended up joining. Besides the gameplay and NFT aspects, the prices at the time were what was appealing to me.

Splinterlands currently has some mechanisms in place that DO support new players such as different league levels, Daily Rewards, and free tournaments. But over the past few weeks and months, I'm seeing comments from new players that the price of building a deck might not be worht the investment compared to the rewards possible. I know we have seen quite the growth over the past few weeks and months, but I think many of us know that a large portion of that is bot accounts. My concern is if/when cards are even too expensive for low levels, will new players still have enough game mechanisms that will make them want to join and stay? If they don't have packs of cards to open, will they have the same thrill as myself and many others had with being able to open packs at a reasonable price and get the same thrills many of us had earlier before the economy boom? Does renting cards have the same thrill as opening a pack or buying loads of 2 cent cards?

Where do you see the game in 5 weeks, 5 months, and 5 years?"

One key point I want to point out is that it was mentioned that Keeps and Castles would add production upgrades to regions/tracts/plots of land depending on how much said Castle and Keep is upgraded in the area, and will most likely each be given a portion of liquidity pools for resources and items?


▶️ 3Speak