You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ARE WE FORFEITING THE IMMENSE ENRICHMENT OF WINTER?

in Threespeak3 years ago

I've had a similar thought around winter time and how it is 'harder' and how we 'need' more cash flow to afford comfort. I love where you went and how you explore being in relationship with nature, land, the elements.

I've been thinking a lot lately about the hardships of winter and how this narrative was planted in me since I was a small child, growing up in a communist/post-communist country. In this narrative, all modern progress is good because it makes our lives easier. There is no space to talk about what we miss out on when we engage fully with modern progress, it's a very black and white narrative.

I find your post to be an invitation for me to transcend (as I have been trying to for a while) the idea of comfort being what we seek. While minding myself, I have been doing a journey that might look backward to some, back to the simplicity of life that means less comfort (in the modern sense) and more meeting nature in all its beauty. I have a long way to unlearn, and I am grateful for how this natural place I find myself in is welcoming me, teaching me about needs I did not even know I had, showing me that what I yearn for is not comfort but challenge, aliveness, healthy movement.