Vlog 3 : Can you guess how many apps I have on my iPhone?

in Threespeak3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


This is my third day of doing Mr Extreme Minimalist vlog series. I was quite lazy today and still I got keep going with series. Consistency is key for greatness.

2016, I have lived few months without a smart phone. Main reason for this is I sold my phone to invest in my first ever startup and used my iPad for everything. Even though it was extremely challenging, I enjoyed living without a phone. I have recently having conversations with a stranger and he told me everyday he wakes up with 20 something missed calls on his phone. While we were talking he kept receiving many notifications and he ignored most of them, still our conversation got distracted many times because of this. This is like one and one conversation as well.

When I lived in Japan, We used to visit my father in law house frequently. In their home, they never switch off the TVs. Both TV will be on until they go to sleep. TV is a great distraction for me. I don’t watch TV anymore. It’s more than a decade since I lived in house that had TV.

Smartphone is probably our best friend these days and worst enemy. There is app for everything these days and every app sends you notifications. For me notifications are like door bells and I feel like I need answer/respond it. Every app is like an item in living space. Like I only own 21 items to live, also I used to have 21 apps on phone. Thanks to more downcounting, now I have only 11 apps that downloaded from apps store. There some Apple apps you can’t get rid off like Clock, Camera, photos etc. It’s not about the number of apps I have on my iPhone but it’s about me able to use this amazing tool for what I needed and stay free from distractions.

It’s quite strange that I’m writing this post from my phone now. But I know wake up tomorrow without any notifications on phone and once done my morning meditation I can focus on what I need to do to improve and enjoy my life.

2F487DAC-B219-4FDF-9D21-CC1E3AA68C5C.png

Ps. Should have written this post on my MacBook and should have written a better content. But I’m happy that I’m keeping it consistent with Mr Extreme Minimalist.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

My smartphone is congested with so many Apps, both used and unused. I think I have over 100 Apps in which I actively use 30 or thereabout and its overkilling me 😫

I totally agree with you when you say notifications distracts. As long as my data connection is active, notification troops in frequently and it distracts me. I could remember turning of my YouTube App notification off for a week, and my data subscription lasted about 8 extra days than usual when my YouTube notification was turned on. Because I would always click on every notification and watch all those boring and eye catchy stuffs. So too many Apps on ones phone doesn't only distracts it also cost more on data subscription.

My pick here's is to learn to do away with Apps that are not adding value to me in any but constantly taking away from me. (such as my time and money.) Which means by doing so, I can get to save more money and time.

Awesome series Nathan 👍🏽

Midnight vlogs are the best 😅😂

Yes. I think so.

Unfortunately I need to keep my voice down. I try outdoor Vlogging today.

Kudos for striving on. Would love to see more people share intimate details about their lives. There have to be more minimalists on the blockchain.

Global pandemic is forcing people to downsize their lifestyle. As a minimalist we're well prepared!

TV is a great distraction for me. I don’t watch TV anymore. It’s more than a decade since I lived in house that had TV.

I have two TVs at home, but I barely watch them. During initial Corona pandemic, I watched the news some times, but that's it.

I guess kids needs TV.

My two year old son is watching TV in his grandparents house in Japan.

News is to the mind what sugar is to the body.

Stop consuming news to live calm and happy life.

Check out this book.

48581422._SY475_.jpg

Haha I think 24 apps brother 😄😄😄😄

9 + 3 = 12

I'll be deleting whatsapp next week.

Have u tried “session” messaging app? It’s great!

No thank you. Happy with Signal at the moment

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal