You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fight For Freedom of Speech Continues

in Threespeak4 years ago

I love how you said at the end "Let's be the voice of the future!" YES. Because really, when it comes down to all of this, WE are the ones who can change things if we speak up. When we are silent, we are saying it's okay to censor & control us. I don't know about you, but I am not about to be silent now... :)

It is disheartening, to say the least, what Twitter did to @theycallmedan. There is no reason for it. He wasn't abusive or doing anything wrong. It's just another example of censorship because "they can."

Ever since I did the mainstream social media detox project, I never felt aligned with it since. Sure, I will post a couple of inspiration things for the Pixie Post brand, but I don't feel a pull for it. And now, Facebook is going to start censoring things in October according to new terms & conditions (even though they really have been all along). Why would I want to give power to that? I feel I am encouraging that if I do. I am much happier on the decentralized platforms where I don't have to worry about being silenced or cancelled.

Freedom of speech is our birthright, even if we don't always agree. We should be able to express ourselves without fear of retaliation.

Ha ha well you got me on my soapbox, but honestly, thank you for talking about these topics. It's important we think about these things because this stuff is going on right in front of us & some are blind to it. It's time to wake up! :) 💚

Sort:  

Hahahaha... I like to read these kinds of comments... I remember the time when I was talking about "don't feed the beast"... and it finally brings fruition...

People start to notice that censorship exists and it is here... Don't think that it is too late, but everything comes in its time... I mean, the point of censorship is to hide something and to try to hide that it exists...

So knowing all that, we aren't doing so bad... Making progress, and giving less power to the beast... :)

Thanks for the comment!