You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Correlation The Power Of Hive's Decentralization

in Threespeak2 years ago

Wikipedia is decentralized in its nature by default. A public knowledge storage, accessible and editable literally by everyone/anyone. If anything, then this should be truly and really decentralized. So even more than the Hive blockchain itself. Probably the Wikipedia should have (and stored on) its own blockchain.

Sort:  

You cannot say a centralized database is decentralized.

When it is stored on AWS and the wikipedia foundation is paying the bill, that isnt decentralized.

And it is misleading to say anyone can go in an edit. That is not true either.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You cannot say a centralized database is decentralized.

I did not wrote that. I wrote that it should be. I wrote only that it is decentralized in its nature.

And it is misleading to say anyone can go in an edit. That is not true either.

Well. I could edit any article anytime from any of my devices without even registering and logging in. I have not edited any Wikipedia article so far. I have not tried it so far. But the option is there with the "Publish changes" button. For example the website writes that "Dr. No (novel)" is today's featured article.
You are editing it, and if you press Publish changes, your changes may be publicly viewable immediately. Constructive changes are welcome, but please do not attempt to damage the article".

I have not actually edited it, but I could. And I also see the edit history of any Wikipedia article, including the platform and the application, which was used for the editing, and the IP address or the username of the editor. Sometimes there is a guide robot fixing typos, so the edits are not always from people.

but I don't this editing part will be good as the blockchain can't be edited after the block is validated.

Posts/comments are editable on the Hive blockchain. The edits appear in seperate blocks, and everything is kept on the blockchain. So technically probably it would be possible.