Imparting lives, without saying a word.

BCDEB7B0-0A58-477D-B613-2B944F9892DE.jpeg

CE2AA5B3-31AB-4A7D-B862-DD6F522D601B.jpeg

“How much do they pay you that you dress this way?”
I’ve lost count of how many times I was asked that question. In my neighborhood I’ve been given different kinds of names: Regional pastor, Bank manager, CIA Agent.

People find it amusing that I dress up this much just to go and teach 14 year olds. I always smile, because they know so little.
A good teacher knows that teaching goes beyond what is done in the classroom. Your actions, your appearance, your speech can all go a long way in having deep impart in your students.

I have always taken pride in my appearance. Wherever I go, I don’t dress shabbily. This really showed in my outfits when I started teaching about 6 years ago. I dress corporately, and if I want to go the native way it is always complete.

This has attracted some side talks from my neighbors and most especially some fellow staff. It was not until recently a very close neighbor expressed her deep shock when she found out I am a teacher. And according to her, I “overdress” for my job.

ECE362F7-2169-4AEE-83CD-E61E98BD6338.jpeg

1A8CEEF9-353A-4792-A21E-6CE6E641177D.jpeg

But the greater challenge is from coworkers. They grumble that I make them feel as though they are the unserious ones for not dressing the same way. To be frank, those talks sometimes get to me. What is wrong in dressing up the way I want, as long as due protocols are observed?

Last week a mother called me. It was a Sunday, and her son wanted to wear a complete suit to service. She was surprised, because the boy had never made that suggestion. My student said “I want to dress and look good like Uncle Kenny.” She ended the call with ‘thank you’. This shows how swiftly one can influence another, without saying a word.

Most of the student’s learning is done outside the four walls of the classroom. It’s not about what you say, it’s about what they see. Although the major aim is to build them academically, we cannot neglect morals, mindset, discipline. In fact, to betray any of those is to lose the purpose of teaching.

I’ve learnt to ignore the naysayers. They will always have something to say. I just do my job and go home.
Let me conclude with a favorite quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson:

What you do speaks so loudly that I can not hear a word you say.

Thank you for visiting my blog.

Sort:  

It's always good to ignore side talk and do feel good

Indeed, It’s the best way to live.