Abundance Tribe’s BiWeekly Question - When Do You Feel The Most Alive

648ED9B9-FDF3-40A3-8C3B-2E8269A42470.jpeg

Nothing turns me on than seeing ingredients I’m putting together unified to give me a good taste and a good look. What makes me the most alive is cooking. I love cooking. I can’t really remember how it started, because it seems like that vibe has been with me all along. But, I grow up to realize that I’m super careful, thoughtful at the same time happy when I cook. Talking about making a Fried rice, I like to firstly parboil my rice. I realized that during the frying process, sometimes my salt and bouillon doesn’t really get into the rice as expected, so I thought about how I can change that. Afterwards, I decided to be parboiling my rice with a little salt, not enough to make the rice tasty, but enough to pre-sweeten the rice and ta-dah, I got that great taste. I use the same process for Jollof rice, and the taste has been superb.

Just like every other Nigerian Girl, I learnt cooking basically from my Mum. I know many people says their Mum’s food is the best, but dearie, you can’t say because you’ve not tasted my Mum’s food. She taught me the basic techniques of cooking different meals early and as well gave me the opportunity to explore what she has taught me on time. This gave me the liberty to experiment a lot of ideas as they pop up. Sometimes I end up making a good food and sometimes not. That actually helped me to discover my personal recipe for some meals and for some, I developed procedure that works for me.

ED51B77A-0094-4D87-A642-EE4738554B61.jpeg

I’ve been able to make use of YouTube as well to learn different recipes and procedures to prepare meals. My favorite is Zeelicious Foods.You can check her page when you’re free. I love the way the host, Winifred (Queen of fun and fast cooking) made cooking so simple and interesting.

What cooking does for me? Cooking makes me relax and clear my mind, it’s almost like a therapy for me already (smiles). I have zero worries when I cook, as all my focus is on how to create a great taste. I’m conscious of the desired results from the first stage to the last stage. Cooking makes me feel good and valuable. Yes! Valuable. Come to think of it, Humans can go for days without food quite alright, but humans can’t survive here on earth without food. As food is a good source of energy and source of divers nutrient to the body. It supports muscle development, boosts immune system, strengthens bone, support pregnancy and breastfeeding and as well help us to live long. I’m super excited to remind myself all over what the food I make does to the body.

I hope someone is inspired by this write up, either to find reasons to enjoy cooking the next time the opportunity comes or to enjoy eating. For me it’s the cooking part, I love it as it makes me the most alive.

Enjoy salivating the picture of the English breakfast and Noodles.
Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations @inioluwaruth! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!