You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 👨‍🍳 I Purchased Propane On The Black Market 🔥 It Felt Like a Drug Deal 💊

So far that would be a long and inefficient process, so I haven't turned any HIVE into fiat yet. Up until recently I taught private Khmer language classes online, and I received payments via PayPal. This income was enough to keep us above water while we drained our life savings little by little from month to month.

The situation here is tricky because the ATMS only dispense Suriname dollars, fine if you have a local account and Suriname dollars are what you deposited. There are even some ATMs that dispense US Dollars, but only for those who hold accounts locally with said bank. I tried to open an account here, but apparently my income wasn't official enough to please banking officials.

This situation leaves me with two choices - either with Suriname dollars from an ATM at hyperinflated exchange rates, or get US Dollars from Western Union and exchange it on the street for a more realistic rate. At times though even the ATMS have been dry of Suriname dollars, and nowadays Western Union has no more EUROS or USD, a sign the country has run out of them or come close to it.

Western Union is ultimately the most efficient way to get my money to me here. I offered a SWIFT bank-to-bank exchange with my landlord, but he refuse because he can only withdrawal $100 USD per week due to the banking rules amid this financial crisis.

The closest crypto to HIVE connection I know here is supposedly there is a guy here who buys crypto for Suriname Dollars, but I've never been able to access him, and I heard his rates are similar to Western Union. It's just a good ole' hot mess here. !ENGAGE 20


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io