You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Irony of World Tourism Day, Thailand 2020

I guess the assumption is there that this is just temporary, but as it currently stands, I can't help feeling that it's almost devolved back to tourism being only within the reach of the very wealthy. This would even exclude most of the middle class, because they can't be off work for more than a few weeks at a time and with a two week quarantine it would be pointless to go.

Environmentally, it's probably not a bad thing, but it's going to cause a lot of resentment and hurt a lot of people, as you've already pointed out.

For most of my life, travelling abroad was always beyond our reach anyway. Childhood holidays were camping in the rain in Skegness. Even a caravan was a luxury! 😆 Then my mum became a nurse and started earning enough to leave us with our grandmother once a year while they toured the Greek islands, so even those trips stopped.

Australia is a tourist destination in itself, so I've never felt the need to do Bali, like most people here seem to do. I guess I now won't be able to visit you in Thailand, either. Since we've been living off a single income while I homeschooled, we haven't had the spare cash for holidays abroad anyway and the idea of backpacking never appealed to me. I never really enjoyed camping after the experiences of leaking tents and treks across cold soggy fields to the toilet in the night. So I guess the changes won't make too much difference to me personally, but I know a lot of people it would upset.