You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🦠 My Understanding of the "New Normal" 🚫🛃 An @Abundance.Tribe Question

Don’t feel bad. Making $2000 a month with a formal education is pretty unattainable as well. The talking heads in corporate America have decided that regardless of inflation-$32000 a year will be the “median income,” they and their friends exempt from the norm, of course.

I cracked that once but it required me to be in near constant agony with respiratory issues and constant serious injury, as well as extremely sleep deprived and treated like complete trash in the workplace.

Now I’m content with my $1600 a month living. All that ever happened was I was moved to a tax bracket that left me with less take home pay than I have now...and additional taxes owed at the end of the year.

You aren’t missing much in the “$2000 a month” department.

Sort:  

Give thanks man, everything happens for a reason I guess. If I could've somehow magically produced a $2,000 a month salary in Cambodia, we would've never had to have left and faced all this hardship.

However, making $2,000 a month in Cambodia legally is not anything I have ever heard of. I think a successful non-corrupt person could maybe top out at $1,000 per month.

Now we survive on around $400, giving our landlord $250 for rent, which leaves us $150 for the month in Suriname. Even in Cambodia, $150 for living costs for a family of 4 is possible, but not extremely difficult. Here that's almost impossible. We do a lot of urban foraging to supplement our diet. I can't wait til things get better.