You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: US's supreme court ruling to ban abortions is stupid, unaware and biased

in Abundance Tribe2 years ago

Well, I guess I'm not convinced your sisters represent every woman in the world :). Certainly their are many women who don't even believe in a soul or in the ability to communicate that way. I tend to think that there are many women that have an abortion out of fear of the responsibility a child will bring because the pregnancy was unexpected or unintended and in that state of mind wouldn't necessarily be in tune with such things. In any case, even if every single woman in the world did in fact know when their baby gained a consciousness, would every one still base an abortion decision on that? While this discussion is way beyond what the law could reasonably decide at this point, would a woman who had an abortion knowing their unborn child had a consciousness/soul be a murderer (morally speaking)?

Sort:  

Let me ask you this -
In nature, some creatures kill their newly born cubs. Are they murderers in your eyes?
Please don't tell me it's a different thing because these are animals and we are talking about human beings.
My point to make is that there are unseen, unconscious elements, instincts if you will, that drive behavior, and women who feel the urge to do an abortion follow their inner voice, just as the animal chooses to kill her cub out of mercy and empathy.
And no one but the mother can feel and know that instinct.

Personally, I think it is a different thing. However, sure, they are murderers. Probably in some cases anyway. I certainly believe, generally speaking, that a woman who intentionally kills a newborn is a murderer (there may be exceptions of mercy, obviously i can't speak to every single case). Serial killers have instincts too. The point of that statement is not to say that an abortion equates to a serial killer, just that instincts aren't always "good". At some point, an individual gains a right to life no matter what the mother thinks. When do you think that is?

...and that's the point of difference between our opinions.
I consider life as including the soul level (whatever that means to me), not just the flesh or the shape of a fetus. A fetus, therefore, becomes an individual not before his physical birthing.

Perhaps I misunderstood or it was someone else, but I thought you said that the mother knows when the soul or consciousness is there,which implies to me that you think it can exist before birth. Regardless, the difference between us isn't that I only consider the body, it's just that I don't think we KNOW when the soul comes into existence and hence prefer the idea of protecting life earlier rather than later.

Thanks for correcting me.
Perhaps not all of the mothers know consciously, but they feel it.

For me the Soul does exist before birth. Not only that, even after birth there are communications between the personality and its soul, the I AM entity.
But, that's a whole another separate, long and kind of different discussion. :-)