You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🌎🌎🌎 Cross Culture Question : What was the biggest culture shock you have ever experienced? 🌎🌎🌎

in Abundance Tribe β€’ 4 years ago

AWesome this is on Abundance Tribe now!!! Brilliant. Funny, I never experience culture shock. I only ever get it in reverse - when I come home. I always travel eyes and heart wide open, and never assume my culture is the benchmark for normality. And the more different to my own, the more I enjoy the cultural experience!

Sort: Β 

That's an interesting point. It could explain why Australia has been the only place to surprise me, because the language is the same, the infrastructure is similar, so I was expecting that everything else would be the same too. Yet the differences are so subtle, I wonder if I could put my finger on anything specific.

Well yeah, that's interesting, as my husband kinda feels the same. Now that you think about it, maybe you're right - it's the English speaking countries that are culturally shocking, as you expect them to be the same but they aren't!

That sounds like a good post! Hope you share it!

Reverse culture shock is fine! Talk about it!!