Three more Tomatoes are almost ready

in Abundance Tribe4 years ago

Sine planting these in late spring they have produced about half a dozen fruit so far. And now I'm about to have three more.

20200928_082000.jpg

Looks like they got a little "cats eyed". That is the splitting found on their skin. I hear its from too much water.. haha yeah Georgia does get alot of rain. It may make them a little ugly but they still taste great.

20200928_081954.jpg

The plant is almost as tall as me. I need to build or buy some large cages for them next year. The plants wont get that much taller without support.

20200928_082005.jpg

A little further down the vine another Tomato is almost ripe. There are three ready at the same time.

20200928_082011.jpg

I wonder how many more I'll get before the end of the season. I think one more or maybe two more fruitings. That would be great, giving me over a dozen or so fruit per plant yielded for the year.

20200928_082020.jpg

A couple of vines escaped the cage, but seems like they are doing okay on top of the mulch. I have hardwood chips spread out all over the place. Maybe that's acceptable for them so they dont rot.. I'll let them rest there and see how they do.

20200928_082147.jpg

Should take a few days for these fruit to ripen. I place them in the window so they get some sunlight every day.

Just bought three Tomatoes ironically. I guess I'll just eat mine when they ripen as mine are much fresher than any major market bought Tomato.

Sort:  

There is no comparison to tomatoes grown in your back yard vs store bought. The home grown have so much more flavor.

So true.. being fresh right off the plant cannot be beat

We have had a fairly good crop, but they have been late to ripen. I was hoping the warm weather last week would finish them off. There were some from earlier including a yellow variety, but I picked two big ones at the weekend. The raspberry crop has been amazing this year, but may be nearly finished.

image.png

Ah very nice.. those cherry tomatoes look real good. And so do the raspberries.

Congrats on your harvest

They are tasty. It may be that the rest will not ripen much more as it has turned colder.

Hah yeah turned a little chilly here too.. got into the 40s farenheit this week.

They look tasty @solominer, it is fun to eat them as is with only some salt :P

They sure are tasty.. haha yeah a little salt goes a long way. I tend to add tomato slices to my burgers.

@tipu curate

Tasty, it's always satisfying watching those tomato plant bring out fruits, so 12 tomato so far since you started planting in April right? I think tomato are vegetables that grow all round the year maybe before December, you'll get more

I think I started them a few months after April but glad they have produced so much in this short time.

Yeah hoping the weather stays warm enough to sustain them until then.