Sort: Β 

But you know what? At times I think of what would have happened had I been the favored one showered with gifts and affection. We're a product of our environment, and I would not be the humble, selfless person I am today, filled with empathy and compassion had I not gone through what I did. So in a way, the entire situation had a silver lining and became a blessing in disguise. Better day are coming and I wish the very best for you and your family. Cheers! :)

I don't think anyone was happy, I don't think your brother was either. But I find it unbearable that an innocent child is blamed and constantly punished. I also find it deadly sad about the birthday parties that weren't held at your house for you. What feelings you had to endure. Even if there was no birthday party in public, but they could have had a birthday party with presents with you. Also that your sister was beaten for having a secret birthday party for you is really shameful. And that your mother had planned a sixth child despite abject poverty and injustices at home is totally incomprehensible. The way the social worker told her it wasn't fair to the children to keep having children, he should have said a long time ago that it was totally unfair the way, that you were treated. You needed a great friend. If your mother had wanted to marry that man with the three daughters, I think you would have been better off. Too bad.
I hope the bitter marks in you will be healed.