You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NFT ART IS USELESS ... unless it comes with Rights or Utility

in PHOTOGRAPHY [DAC]3 years ago

Another Naysayer to NFTs? Holy Cow, I thought I was all alone and I hadn't even considered the copyright mess.

I think it's the next big bubble/scam/ponzi just waiting for a place to happen. When a very modestly successful artist sells an NFT for 98 million I have to believe that every dickhead on the internet is going to be figuring out how to get their piece of that. It's liable to make the poor Nigerian prince look like a piker.

I don't think you CAN copyright an item attached to an NFT as the token itself is unique. You are, after all, buying a token that is (maybe) attached to something that might or might not represent value. What could possibly go wrong?

I'm thinking NFTs are going to give crypto a seriously black eye that is likely to take a long time to heal.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Another Naysayer to NFTs?

I wouldn't call myself that. I am cautious and I want NFTs to do well so I'm protective of all the crazy stupidity happening. The hype speculators are gonna hurt this and like you say "give crypto a seriously black eye that is likely to take a long time to heal."

I think an nft art is like a signature from the original artist. It's proof that it came from the original seller. The new, recent, Leonardo da Vinci art didn't have the proper documents that Leonardo da Vinci painted it. A nft would solve that problem. It bypasses the middleman, the art gallery.