Struggle with editing average photos

in PHOTOGRAPHY [DAC]2 years ago

I noticed last few months that i don't even want to start editing my photos when i "know" that they will all be average. And i thought that when i was taking them.

Last weekend i was on a short trip to visit some friends, that is a post on it's own. It was not a trip with a purpose of making photos (not a photo trip), weather was blah, i was late 2-3 weeks for the place to look really great (winter is almost here, but still not here, so trees are "naked" and mud is everywhere).

I have a thing where i don't use my phone when i am hanging out with people and that kinda transferred to taking photos. I don't like to spend a lot of time taking photos when i am hanging out/walking around with other people (and it was not planed to be a photo walk). And everyone into photography knows how much time they spend on finding and taking that one photo.

So i kinda knew that there will be nothing spectacular on my memory card.

2P3A1678-Edit s.jpg

Anyone having the same experience? Did i just started to be overly critical in my photography?

Sort:  

I can relate to this feeling. Sometimes when I had this feeling that all the photo that I took is not that great I will take one or two days to forget all about that photo. I just go out or watch movie and no photography activity. Then after two or three days, I come back to see all the photo, and actually its not that bad :D I think its because I was 'burn out' from taking too much photo without a rest.

maybe i just saw to many spectacular landscape photos :D

the stepping back for few days is probably a good idea.

Thanks.

I think your photography is wonderful. We tend to be overly critical at times and your work should speak for itself. Good, bad, mediocre really depends on the mood you're in at the time.

I assume you think your photo is mediocre but I find it fascinating and makes me think. I see a bird in the background and what I assume to be muddy river. The unknown adds to the allure. I'm always a big fan when people post a photo with little context, I tend to add my own. Correct or not I get something from it.

As for phones around other people, I turn mine off. Live in the moment and I don't want any distractions.

Average photo? Certainly not 🙂

I am also not that good at taking compliments 😂

there is good side of little context and a good side of full explanation of what is going on. water level on Danube is really low, boats on mud are not seen that often there.

Thanks.

It happens all the time!
I can't count how many times I have edited and deleted and reedited again and again. And usual is for pictures I am not very happy about :)
This one is pretty cool though. I like the nostalgic - winterish mood!

at least i am not the only one :D

i was in the mood of should i even open lightroom to start editing those :) but also went on all over the place with how i wanted it to look. So photos taken minute apart have totally different feel. probably comparable with your reediting.

Thanks.

I find a few things. A) I need to edit the photos quite quickly else you’ve moved on and lost interest in the moment. If I don’t do anything with images in a short space of time they become harder to edit later for me. My ones from Mexico now I’m back I really know I need to get them out over the next week or it’ll be really hard to get excited about them. It’s sometimes hard at the time though as your so busy in the moment and experience.

I also back from my fashion photography days know light is everything. You can edit all day long but you’ll never edit a photo with bad lighting to look good. I mean you can Brighten something too dark but not add dimension with light and shade.

I don’t have the issue taking photos though. I try and use my phone less definitely but for some reason I exclude taking photos in that as I actually enjoy the process of Capturing moments and sharing them and it adds to an experience for me.

i never invested a lot in the phone and that usually means that camera on it is not that great. So i rarely use my phone for photos.
I do enjoy capturing moments and sharing them.

I do still use it for macros etc or some landscape shots but it’s impractical to take it out and about regularly. Maybe at some point when Crypto’s very high I’ll invest in a good quality camera Altho my phone camera is pretty good to be fair with a bit of tweaking with editing software it’s amazing how far they have come.

My camera is a huge ass thing and the lens is longer than my hand. It weighs a LOT. I really need a middle of the road camera like the powershot again that was my first camera. My actual dslr is huge and then I have about 6 lenses to carry around with it, spare batteries and memory cards. It’s just kind of impractical for blogging. They will probably drop out of favour even for fashion shoots soon. I’m sure I still have a bad shoulder from carrying that and my old school physical portfolios around for go sees.

i cut it to 3 lenses and going mirrorless helped with not carrying the 18-35 sigma all the time (that thing is not light) :D

sometimes when i walk without my camera backpack i have that weird feeling like i forgot something :)

i have that need to edit it right away when i know that i had some good ones :)

Light is important but with "walk through" landscape/nature photos is kinda most about luck. if it is cloudy and raining and you are there only for an hour, it is cloudy and you are there only for an hour 😂

I agree with one of the comments above, maybe you need a little break from photography, to come back more motivated. Or maybe you could focus on another angle or try something you're not used to, that might change your perspective. Still, I think your photography is great!

will try to let them sit on the drive for few days. will see how will that go :D

Thanks

I can relate totally. However, sometimes it is a great challenge to go out somewhere where you know it is nothing "spectacular" and still squeeze that out of the photo. And then again - spectacular photos already exist. We all saw fall landscapes, ou great a maple leaf and lake, ahhh yes, pumpkin and spice... So what else has left for us? The story, I think. You see we are getting closer and closer to the death of photographers (actually a lot of artists). Computers will take photos for us, wanna add more trees? Bamf here you have... But one thing they will not take from us, MEANING. We are catching the meaning inside the memories. Subtle messages and so one. So that is the reason I like your photo. Water is gone, but not completely. It is inside the boat, though. Just like us, we feel empty because we don't see something that should be there. But on the other hand, it is there. I bet if you would have a better hmmm mood on the day of photographing, you would take much more sleek shoots. Ne daj see Ines!

Water is gone, but not completely. It is inside the boat, though.

i had to go and check did i wrote about that 😂 because that was what i was thinking while taking the photo 😂

Computers will take photos for us, wanna add more trees? Bamf here you have... But one thing they will not take from us, MEANING. We are catching the meaning inside the memories.

didn't really think about this, but you are right. editing/manipulating photos by AI went parabolic last few years. soon it will be really easy to add what ever you like. if AI gets to the point of understanding feelings then we are f-ed :D

Ne daj se godinama :D

And everyone into photography knows how much time they spend on finding and taking that one photo.

Lol, isn't that the truth.

Sometimes I edit photos that I think may work and then discard them. I usually shoot an excessive amount of photos to minimize editing, so I don't spend that much time on it. Many, many photos go straight to the trash bin, no editing at all, LOL.

Very muddy in that photo. I'm imagining slipping and going down for the full mud dip experience, lol.

i have a hamster problem
untitled.gif

it reflects bad on my storage.

not deleting photos :)

Very muddy in that photo. I'm imagining slipping and going down for the full mud dip experience, lol

our next stop was visiting a friend in the next town so we were playing safe with no crazy mud adventures :)

😂 Here's where I admit to having enjoyment at deleting work I do that doesn't measure up. It's more fun when it's not digital (imagine the sound of ripping canvas, paper, etc.)

Smart to avoid playing in the mud prior to visiting. Your friend may have thought you were mud monsters.

I have the same, last week, the day stared very foggy and grey bud it was very moody so i took a lot of pictures! But then after an hour the sun came and the sunrays exploded. I know the bangers are there but didn't edit them what so ever. I dot know wy. I used to put them on instagram like the same day! This was that morning! I Did make an instagram reel of it :p
https://www.instagram.com/reel/CXmVTlsDrx3/

I know the bangers are there but didn't edit them what so ever.

that is another level of it. i kinda doubted that bangers are there :D

I don't know about photography, but I see this picture is so beautiful. I thought it was a painting.

very beautiful editing ❤️ love the colors and contrast also.
Very impressive work dear friend @bil.prag. God bless you.

!discovery 20

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @wnfdiary.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program
 2 years ago  Reveal Comment