The Deer of Richmond Park


I've posted a number of blogs about my recent visits to the park, but I haven't yet mentioned the wild deer that live within the it's walls.


Some background information...

Richmond Park was created by King Charles 1 in 1637, as a hunting park, surrounded by an 8 mile brick wall to prevent the deer from straying. The deer herds have remained in the park ever since, and are an iconic presence in it's landscape.

The park is home to approximately 630 Red and Fallow deer. The fallow deer are quite skittish, but the larger, red deer are more imposing, and more likely to stand their ground if approached by humans. During the birthing season in the summer, the hinds will be very protective of their young, and are known to chase away any humans who come too close. Early Autumn brings the rutting season. During this time it's best to stay well clear of the stags, who fight with one another for the hinds. It's a dramatic spectacle, best observed for afar. Large, stressed, testosterone fuelled mammals, with killer spikes on their heads, are to be avoided.

Twice yearly there is a cull, to keep the numbers consistent. Without any natural predators, the deer population in the park would explode, which would lead to a lack of food and ultimately, sickness and starvation for the animals. It's a sad, but seemingly necessary intervention, to maintain the health of the herds within the walls.

During the culls, the park is completely closed overnight. This has caused me many a frustrated morning standing outside locked gates, watching epic light unfold, waiting for the man with the key to arrive and open the pedestrian gates.

The deer shed their antlers in early spring, and re-grow them over the late spring and summer months. Despite my wanderings, I have never found a deer antler. I would love to know what happens to them all..... :)




I don't usually photograph the deer for a couple of reasons. Firstly, I could really use a longer lens for photographing the wildlife. My current longest lens is a 210 mm f/4. Secondly, there are a lot of photographers in the park who come to photograph the deer. They are already very photographed animals.

When I bought my camera, I wanted to photograph landscapes. Ideally, I wanted to photograph mountains. However I live in London, and one makes the best of what is available. In my case, it's the park. Although there are definitely no mountains, and to be honest no real vistas at all, there is a wealth of natural beauty, and intimate landscapes to photograph. Particularly if there is mist or fog. My brain now holds a map of it's layout - the hidden woodland spots that look amazing when a bit of mist infiltrates it's perimeters. Where looks good if it's frosty, but there is no atmosphere. The best place to photograph a spring full moon...

Despite my obsession with the park's landscape, sometimes a scene presents itself that is impossible to not photograph. I don't seek out the deer, but I do have some images of deer that I have taken, that I'm really happy with.



Monarch of the Glen

Stag-1.jpg

I took this one 5 months after buying my camera, in January 2019. It was an uneventful winter sunrise, but I decided to take a wander up the hill, and came across this magnificent stag with his harem of hinds. There was just a touch of atmosphere in the air that softened the distant landscape. The scene resembled a Scottish Glen, rather than a London park. I quickly pulled out my camera and took the shot before he moved from his pose. I'm sure he knew how impressive he looked....



Deer Crossing

Wildlife_Comp-3.jpg

This was a wonderful moment I witnessed in April 2019. I'd had a morning down by the brook, and was about to head home, as the best of the light was over. A heard of fallows were congregated on the opposite bank, and I had a feeling they were thinking about crossing. My initial instinct was to grab my telephoto lens, but I held back. The idea of capturing the whole scene, as a landscape image, with the heard flowing through, popped into my head. I sat on the grass to make myself less conspicuous, and set my lens to a wide enough focal length to fit both river banks. I made sure that my shutter speed was fast enough by cranking up the ISO, hoping that image noise wouldn't be too much of an issue, switched to manual focus, and focused on the area that the deer would cross. Then I just waited. After about 10 minutes, it began. I took shots continuously, and this one above is my favourite image. The silhouette of the deer mid jump is perfect, and I love that some of the deer that have already crossed and are on the opposite bank. Since this photo, I've spent countless hours by the brook, but have only ever seen this happen again in the dark. It was a very rare experience, that I was lucky to witness and photograph.



Despite not being a wildlife photographer, these 2 images were my top sellers when I briefly opened an online print shop. Maybe there is a lesson in there somewhere.....



Summer Fallow Buck

Wildlife_Comp-1.jpg

I took this photo on a glorious misty morning in early June 2019. The light was so beautiful, and I love the cobwebs that are strung between the long grass, catching the light. Mist is quite rare in the summer months, so it's always nice to make the most of it.



Since 2019 I haven't photographed any deer at all. I think I've convinced myself that I am not a wildlife photographer, and have limited myself in what I shoot. I don't think self imposed limits are a good thing, particularly when they're not even conscious choices. Writing about my photography on Hive is really helping me to take a step back from my work, and view it with fresh eyes. Maybe in 2022, I will try and take some more photographs of these wonderful park residents.



This blog was prompted by a @photofeed competition that is running this week, with the topic of 'wildlife'. I have a feeling that the first 2 images are probably more landscape than wildlife, but I might enter the Summer Fallow Buck. I think there will be strong competition this week though. :)


Thanks for looking!
Sort:  

I used to live near Windsor Great Park - which also had a lot of deer - it was amazing stumbling on so many of them.

Fantastic photos as usual - thanks for sharing!

Windsor Park is lovely! When I was fitter, I used to cycle there from SW London on Sunday mornings during the summer. We'd go to the Post Office cafe, and get a cup of tea and some flapjack from the chap with the Mod haircut, who used to run it, and sit on the picnic benches outside. I do wonder if it's still open, what with everything that is going on...

Glad you like the photos! :)

!PIZZA

So much in Windsor Great Park! Cycling around is definitely best as it is so big! I haven't been for years but I used to use it for some cycling training and liked it when I stumbled upon a live Polo game!

!PIZZA

Incredible series! I love the first image the most because of the colours, but the second image is almost surreal. Really well done!

Thank you Harmen! That is really appreciated. I think that the first one is probably my favourite as well. I was lucky to find these moments... :)

wow! Amazing! It seems a fairytale...

Thank you Andrea! The park does look like something from a fairy tale when the light is right. Really glad that you like the post! :)

Wow this is a beautiful park. Thank you for sharing about the story of the park and the deers. The photos of the deers are awsome! @cathgothard

It is a very beautiful park, I am very lucky to live close by. Really glad that you enjoyed my post about the deer! :)

Enhorabuena. Has recibido apoyo
The Creative Coin Fund.
Únete al servidor de Creative Coin y comparte tus publicaciones.

Congratulations. You have received support from
The Creative Coin Fund.
Join the Creative Coin server and share your posts.


Selección manual de @elemarg25



Image by barbara-orenya

Thank you! :)

Really enjoyed this read - and then I saw the images! Wow. I've heard of this park from a few friends over the years. It seems almost unfair to shoot wildlife photography here. But if I were you I'd be doing it too.
The landscape there looks phenomenal as well. The light fog and early morning light. It just comes together wonderfully. Very nicely captured, and a great post!

Thank you! Glad that you enjoyed the read. It is an amazing park, I'm really lucky that I live close by. The open space is a welcome escape from the city. On a day like today (grey and boring) it looks like a nice London park, and you might see some deer. When the weather is playing ball, it is like walking into another reality.

I do need the weather to perk up a bit though, it's been grey and boring for weeks now. :)

I myself am in Vancouver CA area, so I can appreciate the grey boring skies as they try to decide if they'll rain more or not. I usually find these grey days the best to escape into the deeper woods and shoot waterfalls and streams. That, or I practice my closeup macro shots of plants while the sky acts as a giant softbox. Shots like this little mushroom are usually what I get on these grey sky days

img_0.7737221617011628.jpg

Yeah I think we share very similar weather. I love your little mushroom. It is straight out of a fairy tale. :)

This is definitely something I want to do more. Go out with my macro lens when the light is flat. Also, I would LOVE to shoot waterfalls. I've never photographed one. I haven't photographed the sea either. My experience of photography is currently limited to the park, and more recently to central London. It's amazing how much mileage I have had photography wise, from a small area of land. I admit to being a little jealous of where you live. Vancouver is an amazing place, and has such stunning countryside close by. And you're by the sea... It must be brilliant for photography! :)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Incredible post with fantastic images, Cath. Stunning work!

Your competition was the inspiration to do a blog about the deer, so thank you @photofeed ! Really glad that you like the post.

Hi @cathgothard,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@tdctunes(1/14) tipped @cathgothard (x1)
cathgothard tipped tdctunes (x1)

Join us in Discord!

I am facinated by your photos! Congratulations!

Glad that you find them fascinating! :)

This is seriously stunning Cath. I love the blending of wildlife and landscape and how you're able to capture both. Wow!!

Thank you Tristan! I am really lucky to live close to this place, it's such an escape from the city. It seems that even when I try and take wildlife photos, they still end up looking like landscapes. 😆 I am definitely a landscape photographer at heart. :) But next year I am going to put more effort into photographing the deer, as they're beautiful animals...

Knuckles, applause, congratulations on the Curie feature and everything else you deserve to hear.

Thank you! :)

The Curie feature was a nice surprise, my first one! Glad you enjoyed the post.

amazing visuals, love them a lot. wish you getting to the top with this, ofc. and extra thanks to you as I am in the know of the current #fotofeed prompt, probably I should jump on that. cheers!

Thank you @qwerrie ! Really glad that you like my photos of the deer. Are you entering the competition? If you are then good luck! :)

ha, I cant say I am entering! Right at this moment I assorted one picture, and going thru the macro folders ... considering my entry. I still have time, hope I can himp on this! Since I rarely entering fotofeed - I have too!

btw - vice versa: check the #PhotographyLovers End of Year contest, if you havent yet. Two weeks are given. This one I also would not like to miss. A year ago, I noticed there were plenty of 'best 10, 20, 50... etc' photos of the year. Would love to do this a lot (1stly for myself). But it really require some time... or preparations done thru the year in advance -- I did nothing like that, so it may be not easy, to check everything and to make the picks...

There is still time to sneak a last minute entry into Photofeed... ;o))

I saw the End of Year contest in the Photography Lovers community today. I haven't posted in there before, but I did think that I might give it some consideration... I will have a think! :)

well, two weeks is a decent time given for doing this one. I prefer not doing the last minute things 🤪
PS.
Photo Lovers is a nice place, community is supported by #OCD, with pro photographers dropping amazing stuff there worth looking. the only (personal) problem is limited information pipe capacity :))) and the amount of posts is really huge... I am able to check just the curation reports from time to time.

Yes 2 weeks should be enough time - I think I will enter! Know what you mean about limited capacity. So much to do and so little time.... ;o)

 2 years ago  

That monarch shot is soooo stunning. And you wrote such a compelling story about the park and your appreciation and love of the park and the animals I love it

Thank you! Am glad that how I feel about the park comes through, because you're right, I absolutely love this place. My life would be much less rich without it. Really glad that you enjoyed the post. :)

Wonderful Cath - gorgeous conditions, and the one of them crossing the river is delightful.

Thank you Kieran! I was lucky to be in the right place at the right time to get the fallows crossing like that. They do it quite often in smaller numbers, but I've seen it less in a big herd. It was such a beautiful sight.

wow what amazing shots! Not been to Richmond park for some time...you make me want to go!

Thank you! Am super lucky to live quite close by. It is a welcome retreat from the city. Glad that you like my deer photos. :)

PS - If you decide to have a visit then wellies are best at the moment - it's getting really muddy in places! ;o)

Beautiful. I missed this one somehow.

Thank you Robert! :)