You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NFT ART IS USELESS ... unless it comes with Rights or Utility

in PHOTOGRAPHY [DAC]3 years ago

I've been thinking of this stuff as I prepare to mint NFTs. The NFT is associated with a photograph of a plant in my garden, but that's not actually the non-fungible thing I intend to sell: what I'm selling is, essentially, the right to have paid me to steward the plant in the photograph.

(The photograph itself will be released under Creative Commons Zero licensing, so available for any use to anone.)

The NFT's owner has the "right," then, to claim that they paid me to grow that plant.

I haven't seen anyone take this sort of liminal approach to NFTs, where the non-fungible thing is an action (the labor of gardening,) instead of an object.

What do y'all (especially OP) think?

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Yeah that's cool you're adding a UTILITY to your token and that has actual value!!

I saw kings of leon saying their tokens had all sorts of utility... like getting the music and even a vinyl record and that part of their proceeds went to a good cause or something.

Cool, thanks for the feedback! (Seriously: this is the kinda stuff where it's easy to think something is a good idea, but someone else can easily see how it's not.)