The ancient buds

in PHOTOGRAPHY [DAC]last month

magnolia buds Samyang AF 135mm 3.jpg


It has been a while since I mentioned the new lens my brother got (here). Time for another set of shots. Not so random, as I knew what I wanted and wanted to see what the new toy could do with it.

There was this Magnolia tree in a garden that was about to bloom. But before that, the dozens of extremely big (if you are familiar with the tree, you know how giant the flowers are) flower buds were just waiting to open. Amazing shape with pink blushed petals.

Yep... that's what I want!


magnolia buds Samyang AF 135mm 4.jpg


I started to shoot against the light. With the afternoon sun and more buds and shadows in the background, it turned out pretty nice. I was hoping for more bokeh, but this is not a lens for that. Instead, I got extremely sharp and smooth images. There is hardly any processing here; there was no need.

Impressive!


magnolia buds Samyang AF 135mm 6.jpg

magnolia buds Samyang AF 135mm 5.jpg


Here is a fun fact about how old Magnolias are:

Magnolia is an ancient genus that appeared before bees evolved. They are theorized to have evolved to encourage pollination by beetles instead. Fossilized specimens of M. acuminata have been found dating to 20 million years ago, and fossils of plants identifiably belonging to the Magnoliaceae date to 95 million years ago.
source

magnolia buds Samyang AF 135mm 1.jpgmagnolia buds Samyang AF 135mm 2.jpg



Few more shots in with sun on the buds. I could easy crop it so much that they would look like macro shots. That's how good the lens is!
But not this time. I like the soft bokeh here and the light colours in the back.


magnolia buds Samyang AF 135mm 8.jpg


And yes, I did come back later to shoot the flowers too. But not with this lens anymore.


magnolia buds Samyang AF 135mm 9.jpg


And then the darkness came... :p


magnolia buds AF 135mm 7.jpg

»«
Shot with Sony a7 III + Samyang AF 135mm F1.8 FE lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

Sort:  

Whoa beautiful wallpaper material for desktops. I would love to have these in high resolution somehow. The rim lighting in the first one is awesome 😎.

These should be enough. I had to crop them a bit, but the quality is not bad.

It's beautiful! Nice photos, the new lens is very, very good. Don't forget to come here in the summer when the flowers bloom.

I did shoot the flowers too. With different lens though, but I have them. They have to wait for their turn.

Gorgeous photos of magnolias. Lovely as always.

Thank you :)

Hello dear friend @ewkaw how are you?
I love the device that your brother acquired, and you have put it to good use, taking these beautiful shots playing with shadows and lights
Beautiful photographs. May you enjoy a beautiful day

Thank you! It is a very nice lens :) I am glad he got it too... so I can use it :P

I rarely saw pinpollo of the magnolia flowers, I always see them when they have grown and their flowers are large and beautiful
Your photographs are beautiful, you have a lot of knowledge of how to make them look beautiful @ewkaw

Thank you! I am still learning too :)

Such a special lens your brother bought! Lucky you! You could play with his new toy.

Very nice and smooth feel to those photos. Very nostalgic kind of vibes, it reminds me of the good old days.

It is amazing I must admit. And I would probably never get it myself, so I am glad I can play with his.

Nice to have such toy to play with! Nice brother!