You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does traditional social media stifle creativity?

I was forced onto a commercial creator account when I got to 50k followers and they cut my reach overnight by 2/3. They then just ask me to promote the posts to get it back. When that happened I realised you don't own your following on any Web 2 platform and committed to web 3. Imagine if you had a third party gatekeeper in between you and your relationships in real life. That could turn on and off your access at will.

Sort:  

Wow that's really shitty. Absolute control. I see why you're not a fan.

Strangely my current growth is slower than when I was a camera newbie. I post much better photos now, but get less follows. I spend a lot of time blocking bots and shadow accounts. Any account that follows me that has zero posts, a random number at the end of their handle, and a nonsensical bio, is an automatic block. I only have 5k followers, so most of the time it's a manageable task.

I just use it as a portfolio and not much else. It was more important to me when I did work for state tourism bodies etc ; but now with the pandemic all that has dried up so its irrelevant to me.