You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Progress is Key

in PHOTOGRAPHY [DAC]2 years ago (edited)

I actually think they are both cool edits although the contrast in the bottom one is a bit ramped up. Would almost make a good bi-polar mood swing post. Old photos and editing hmm.... I would have to dredge back though film scans from the late 90's. Not sure we really want to do that on chain. I think my editing style was at it's worst in the early digital days with experimenting with HDR and over the top dynamic ranges. It seemed liberating at the time after film; but as I have aged I have regressed to more subtle editing which is perhaps more reminiscent of the film tones and textures I took in the early 2000's where I shot a lot of Kodakrome 64 (trying to get that 1970's nat geo look), and a lot of Fuji Velvia (trying to get a pre digital saturation slider saturated landscape look).

Intrepidphotos.com was part of the early internet so was archived by the internet archive project. So I can provide some snapshots of very early work by screenshoting the wayback machine outputs. This is part of the cover index page from 2001; the full galleries are not archived just the index. Jordan shot taken when I was 20, I took that Indonesia shot backpacking when I was 17, and Laos I was 18. Long time ago. I think I am more embarrassed now about that font than the photos.
image.png

Fast forward a decade to 2011; Much better font to photo ratio lol and the photos are a fair bit more refined IMO

image.png

They seem to have archived all the photos in this 2012 snapshot if you wanted to do some web time travel
https://web.archive.org/web/20121114033902/http://www.intrepidphotos.com/

For better of worse they are still archiving me

image.png

Sort:  

Best. Font. Ever!!
Looks like some great travel photography! Don't get me started on over the top HDR editing. I think I shared a post on bad editing one time. I'm not going to bring up those photos again!

That archiving of the internet is pretty cool!

One has to love late 90's fonts. Super epic indeed.