You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NFT ART IS USELESS ... unless it comes with Rights or Utility

I'm just little people, so my opinion isn't worth a hoot.... and won't be too popular.....but....

I just saw a TV program last night on the art NFTs and found it somewhat interesting.

If I paid for a piece of NFT art, I would expect to be able to do whatever I wanted with it, with the one exception of presenting it as if I was the one that created it. What good is it if that is not a given? Otherwise, I paid for air. It will take much more convincing to get me to pay for that.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Why do you think your opinion wouldn't be popular?

I have now purchased 3 relatively cheap NFTs... because I didn't really know what I was getting 5-10Hive seemed like a fair deal and almost like tipping the artist for creating something awesome.

1-2 Two of them say "Private" not sure what the heck that means to them or to the site that gave the artist that selection option.
3 One of them says "Private" and then the author actually wrote "Cannot be used commercially" that's always been an issue with copyrights is that statements are very ambiguous as to what the artist considers "Commercial" but I don't plan on doing anything close to commercial so it's fine.

All in all i still don't really know what I can do with these images... but i guess people online these days post stuff without ever asking anyway so posting them on my blog is probably ok. But it's Hive/PeakD and posting on my blog will earn my money... So? Is that ok??

I suppose the unpopular comment came simply from what was rolling around in my head at the time.

To say that I thought if I purchased something, I felt like I could do whatever I pleased with it..... well.... it seems from what I read that many artists really want to sell their art and keep it too (not just in NFTs) ! We all need a business like that ...right?

I would never think two ways about putting photos up of art I own in a blog or facebook post or the such. That I received Hive for the posts it was in would never cross my mind as questionable.

Too many rules ! ha ha

By selecting 'Private,' the owner has no rights to reproduce or use the work commercially. By selecting 'Limited Reproduction Rights,' the artist grants the owner full commercial rights for the work to be used or recreated in commerce, but does not give away the creator's license.

That is what NFTShowroom says about the rights you as an minter can chose when minting.
I am also a bit lost on all of that, and also not really in the business so didn't really got deep into it.

Edit:

Just seen that you commented on it in the next comment.

I don't quite understand why they would come up with such confusing definitions. In the "real" world of copyrights, I post a lot of my stuff as CC, but with the restriction of "Attribution-Non-Commercial-No Derivatives": https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/
So why they tried to re-invent the wheel is beyond me, since all these different licenses are already part of the legal framework of Copyright and Creative Commons.
More about Copyright on my Visionary Art website.

maybe some nft isn't public domain. like you can do anything with a http://pixabay.com image