Edit Your Photos to Tell a Story

in PHOTOGRAPHY [DAC]3 years ago

story.jpeg


Edit Your Photos to Tell a Story


Hello friends,

It is often said that a picture is worth a thousand words, but if you are taking professional photographs, you are more likely to hear that it is worth much more when published.

It is my own personal opinion, that, when you are ready to share your images with the world, you should edit them in a way that makes them worth more. One methodology is to edit your photos to tell a story in them.

Myself, I like to say "what is the feeling in this picture and how can I amplify that"? Through a little post-processing or a lot of post-processing, what feelings can I bring up. The very first thing you can do in post-processing is reflect your emotions.

You may not want to show how angry or sad you are in your photos if you are shooting them for your family or clients, but when you are shooting them just for yourself or for social media, it will likely get the point across.

My Tool of Choice

For most of my phone photos and mobile editing, I make use of the free Google software known as "Snapseed". Get downloaded from the android play store here : SNAPSEED.

Sorry Mac users I don't know if its for Mac, swap to Android!

Being that it's free one would think it has limited features and power, however this is a great tool with amazing editing capabilities. It's also very fast, and produces decent results if you know how to tweak the settings. I might make a video about that later on. For now, I want to show a couple of before and after photos that I took on the beach.


Disclaimer :

Art is subjective, what one person finds interesting, other people necessarily may not. The same is true with photography as it is a subjective matter as well.

For Example : You find photos of your baby amazing, perhaps the most interesting and exciting thing on the planet! And for good reason. But, to 99% of the rest of the world... it is just a baby, and they probably don't care that much about photos of it.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯ -IDK


Let's look at some photos I took along the beach the other day. IN Real life... The skies were super dark, gray, storms raged off in the distance, the wind howled across the beach, rain was coming down overhead, giant ocean surf was washing up in storm surges... it was a very powerful day. However, in the photos I took, it just looked blasé, and so lame. I actually felt bored looking at the photos, and if I'm the one who lived that moment, and it was boring to look at, I should probably make a bit more spectacular to achieve the same results as I felt in person..

Again, all these photos are edited inside the Snapseed app.


Original:

20211023_170326.jpg

Edited :

20211023_170326-01.jpeg


Original:

20211023_170330.jpg

Edited :

20211023_170330-01.jpeg


Original:

20211023_171046.jpg

Edited :

20211023_171046-01.jpeg


In the photos above:

  • Which one do you find yourself looking at and more intrigued by?
  • Which one generates more of an emotion and feeling inside you?
  • Ask yourself why.

Again, art is subjective, photography is subjective as well. For myself, I think images that are darker, that have the contrast pushed and pulled, that have some details enhanced in the photos, have a greater expression, invoke more emotion, more feeling, than the others, that they may capture the user's imagination and mind, They may ask, "what's going on here", "what is the story"... more than just a beach with a gray sky... so lame.

Here are other photos I took and then edited (all in Snapseed, and from the same day):

20211023_170938-01.jpeg

20211023_171312-01.jpeg

20211023_171353-01.jpeg

20211023_170716-01.jpeg

20211023_170730-01.jpeg

20211023_170914-01.jpeg

20211023_171319-01.jpeg


So next time you take a picture of your food, or of a cloudy sky...
I would encourage you to experiment with editing your photos. You don't have to push them as far as I did with these, however just increasing the contrast and bringing out some subtle details of an image, can go a long way in helping your image stand out more and look more unique and amazing.

At least this is just my personal opinion, it is a topic that people debate. Being authentic, or presenting a work of art... Is it the processing of the product that is important, is that the moment or the final image that you should be presenting. Perhaps we will explore these questions later.

Thanks for joining me today in this article and, I hope you enjoy the photos!

Till next time, be amazing, and explore the world around you!

  • Cheers


Divider.png

Thankyou.jpg

RoamingSparrow.png
SpectraVentures.png

Travel Photos:@RoamingSparrow
Photo Repository:Roamingsparrow.SmugMug.com

Divider.png


Services I Use and Recommend:

1.png2.png
5.png4.png
linuix.pngdbuzzBanner.png

Help Support Ongoing Content

Bitcoin (BTC)18zopjg9Y2VA1ouCqCZapN3UzdpK3UnMdm
Ethereum (ETH)0x34F6e26d9730b934Af026A7de727fb8fC08204Dd
Binance Smart Chain (BSC)0x34F6e26d9730b934Af026A7de727fb8fC08204Dd

Divider.png

Thanks for reading my post, you inspire me to keep posting!

Thank you for your support!

Sort:  

I always enjoy every of your post. It seems I will go look for a better camera too so as to start taking nice pictures

I would say you need a better camera, people can take amazing pictures with any type of device, it's more about the subject and how you frame it that is important. :) I do appreciate your support @emeka4, you are amazing ❤️❤️

Dropping you some hot !PIZZA and !LUV on this post!

I agree with you on that I posted something earlier which was the meal I prepared some hours back and I would have preferred if I had a better camera to takes those shot I did

❤️❤️

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@emeka4, you've been given LUV from @jacuzzi.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (2/4)

PIZZA!
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@jacuzzi(2/20) tipped @emeka4 (x1)
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.