The City is Fire (2 pics)

in PHOTOGRAPHY [DAC]4 years ago (edited)

I'm working on a fun but long project revisiting some of my old photography. (even though I keep doing new stuff)
Working on 2012 right now and found these two images facinating.

I was out in the desert outside of Phoenix... actually quite a number of miles and yet the glow from the city made these clouds look amazing.
These are long exposures 30 seconds (second image) and 119 seconds (first image) both taken with a 14mm lens and aimed in the same general direction.

9000_7367193.jpg9001_7367204.jpg

Which one you like better?

Also I can imagine someone asking if that's what it really looked like? I mean it's litterally 11:25pm at night. How would i know what it looks like... it looks black to the eyes i suppose but our eyes are limited at night. We can't open our eyes for 119 seconds and finally compile an image. Thus the clouds are moving and our eyes are not sensative enough in this scenario to even percieve much color at night. But doens't mean that color isn't there. So i'm not entirely certain what it really looked like. Most of my daytime pictures look almost exactly how my own eyes percieved things. But night time shots... well let's just be thankful for cameras some of the time.

Sort:  

Second one, because of contrast :)

 4 years ago  

Yeah the 119 sec picture had less noise because it was 500iso instead of 2000 iso so i left in some of the rock forms and the second one I went with a more pure black. Thanks for noticing.

I like the first picture best. It simply has more tension and the light directs the eyes to the rocks.

Cool pictures. The tipping feature in peakd is even cooler though. Nice work on that man!! Sweet products you guys are building.

That is really fascinating about what we can see and what we can't and what kind of pictures we can take with long exposures. Great pictures!

These are both amazing! If I had to pick one favorite, it'd be #1 because the image is more dynamic, with the more visible stars and the composition.

I love the fiery sunsets you can get in the desert! Beautiful work, love the silhouettes. And while they're both good, I do lean towards the second one.

They are both amazing photos and I don't think I could choose a favourite however I do like the dark sky showing through the clouds as well as the texture of the rocks highlighted in the glow... but then, the gradient colour in the second image... I can't decide :)

And the fire is good. The first photo is great