A Ladder to the Moon

Continuing with my night series, probably as a procrastination for writing the second part of my Madagascar travels, with a shot from Tsingy in Madagascar!

I'm still experimenting with creating realistic aurora in photoshop. I don't think I'll be happy until it's virtually indistinguishable from the real thing. Basically if I can fool @intrepidphotos with it then I'll be sorted :P
I was originally going to try it for this piece, but I feel the moon works better anyway. I'm toying with the idea of calling this little series "Rock Stars". But it might be too cheesy.

tsingy night_2.jpg

I'll leave talking about this location for my Madagascar post, but I will say this was a very hot and sometimes sketchy climb. The rocks can be very sharp, so falling is not an option. Even reaching out to catch your balance can result in cuts.

This is the original shot. The stars are from shooting in NZ and the Moon is from when I shot the Super Blue Blood Moon a few years ago.

With the sun being just outside of frame, the lighting already on the rocks works well for bright moonlight.
tsingy night_1.jpg


Intro Post
Website kieranstone.com
Twitter @kieranstoneau
Instagram @kieranstoneau


Sort:  

The toning on this image looks incredible.

I originally had it more natural, but I made it cooler to fit in with the series a bit better.

tsingy night.jpg

Wow, that looks amazing! Lovely image editing Kieran....

Thanks heaps, Cath!

Very cool mate. Love the moon; Not enough sky for an aurora anyway.

You will have me doing composites before I know it ...

I'd be happy to do a tutorial via skype for you 😅

cool; you can start the tutorial with how to remove dust spots ;-)

Step 1: Clean your sensor... :P

Or get a new sensor ;-)

Such an epic image!